Posted by: suek2001 | November 3, 2016

“….Just to hit the ball and touch ’em all”

I had a weird flashback today….I was in the Fourth Grade…Villas Elementary in Fort Myers, Florida….we had our break from Mrs. Ruark’s class for PE….

It was nice weather so just to get out and see blue sky was nice….and then I realized what the prize of being outside would be….PE…or Phy Ed…as they called it…

We had two PE teachers.. their names completely escape me but their appearances are forever stuck in my mind…a really tall man…with a loud voice…a person of color…as they say now…and a young woman…short with blonde hair…powerful voice as well….

They barked orders and we got excercise…and then the games would begin..dodgeball was a favorite…..I really hated PE…not because I was lazy but I was as un-atheletic as can be…and dodgeball was hell…Oh, the kids didn’t really throw that hard…what kid could in the fourth grade?…but my short legs couldn’t dodge the balls…so I never lasted long in the game….

..and just once…I wanted to win…and just once, I wanted to be good at something sports related…but I never was…

I never had the grace or the moves for sports…and never really had the brains to figure out baseball or football or soccer…I was..and still am a klutz…Mom always thought it was funny that my name in Hebrew means “Full of Grace”..whatever that means…finesse is a foreign concept to me…

So, growing up I never really cared for playing or watching sports….Oh the Super Bowl was fun…for food and commercials but to this day, all I can tell you about any of the games was Joe Montana was involved in some games…what he did or scored..I couldn’t tell you….and baseball was a lot like televised golf…it put me to sleep….except when the Minnesota Twins won…twice..

So, when I hit college, I started noticing football..and even baseball…I understood the bare essentials of each but I didn’t follow any teams for years…

I have grown to like football(although my love of it has cooled somewhat)…and have grown to appreciate baseball….

..and then there’s the World Series….this year…I watched almost every game…and put up with Joe Buck’s annoying voice for one reason..to see the Cubs  win the Series….

It was always the joke…”that’ll happen when the Cubs win the World Series”…

Back To the Future even predicted it..sorta..

 

They were off by a year….but oh well…it still was sweet to think about…and a Chicago native..by the name of Steve Goodman wrote a classic song about rooting for a hapless Cubs…

 

…and I suppose my greatest reason for rooting for the Cubs…lies in the wanting to honor a late genius….Mike Royko was a long suffering Cubs fan…

..and his last column before his ill-fated vacation in March of 1997 was all about the curse of that goat…

http://articles.chicagotribune.com/1997-03-21/news/9703210060_1_sam-sianis-goat-into-wrigley-field-jackie-robinson

Mike would never write another column…..He would die by the end of April of 1997…

So, I watched every night of this World Series….and cheered on the Cubs…and yes, the Cleveland Indians too…Both teams brought their best…both teams played their hearts out…

Then that last game….in Cleveland….The Cubs start out with an early lead..and Bill Murray is rejoicing…along with so many Cubs fans…and then the Indians roar back to tie up…Pitchers are put in and pulled….and bases are loaded and players are stranded…and then the bottom of the ninth…comes and goes…and it’s still tied…

By now, it’s close to Midnight for me…and I am ready for bed….but I don’t want to deny myself history..so I force myself to stay up…for one more inning…the 10th inning…..and the rains come…some heavy weather moves it…

It is an agonizing 17 minutes…and the Cubs score the moment the game starts up again…and the Indians try for a comeback…but fall short…and the Cubs win..in my lifetime…the Cubs win!!!!

I think I only got about 5 hours of sleep…and I am not even a baseball fan..but a win like that..makes me believe that certain things are possible…and it was so sweet that with all the horrible news headlines…Americans took a week to root for something…instead of against something….

Let the election happen next week..and all the bitterness may swallow us up…but before it does, let us be grateful for the Chicago Cubs and the Cleveland Indians that gave us joy…great baseball..and great joy…

..and here’s a note for all of my friends that are Cleveland Indian fans…next year, we all will root for you…and thank you for giving us all a great series…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

