Posted by: suek2001 | October 19, 2016

“We are living in God’s favorite nation”…

I have been trying to avoid writing about politics…especially the presidential election..I see enough opinions…and cartoons..and have heard words used in a Presidential campaign that I never thought I would hear….

Still, I suppose I should write…and this won’t really be an endorsement of sorts….or even a warning….just a a chance to weep in word form…

My political beliefs have taken some turns in my educated years…Let’s face it, I took everything my mom said about the world as the truth….

When I became a teenager, I flirted with different ideologies..some radical..some weird…and some of my own making…If you read my journals from high school English class(and God, I hope no one ever does…My apologies to Mrs. Debbie Pollard for having to read such crap) I leaned to the liberal side of things…

John Denver always sang about optimism and hope for a better world…and liberalism offered that on some level….and yet, after a time I realized liberalism was almost a paradise that was out of reach…a home for the homeless..food for the hungry…and world peace in our time….It’s nice to think about but the selfishness of man gets in the way of those lofty goals….

I didn’t really give up on liberalism…I just thought about things a bit deeper…and realized that governmental control isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be…..

(I must interject, I still respect those who believe in the liberalism ideology, it just no longer worked for me..)

For years, I believed that businesses and labor worked together to feed our economy and that together, free of deregulation, they were able to give us the best our nation has to offer….

I’m not so sure of that anymore….for the conservative movement has somehow taken the average worker out of the equation and relied entirely on business owners to be the only ones who can grow the economy..and that consumers should just deal with whatever these corporations sell to the people…

..and then we have this election..a choice between a billionaire with no political savy and a woman who is the living embodiment of Frank Underwood..from the TV show House of Cards…

There is a fatalism about this election..and the supporters of each candidate like I have never seen before…as Jimmy Kimmel said “This whole election feels like America’s series finale”…

It’s also given a lot of people a lot of reasons to hate…each other..the opposition…Mexicans…Muslims…Russians…capitalists…women..men..the left..the right…the congress…..

It’s given us stuff to worship as well…we have Evangelicals worshiping the Supreme Court…conservatives worshiping Wikilieaks…and young kids worshiping an old guy from Vermont that promises free college…

It all makes me want to run and hide somewhere…and on the day after the Election..all the noise…all the anger..all the bitterness will still be there…

I have been watching The West Wing on Netflix for the last couple of months..and yes, it is a liberal fantasy but there’s an air of hope to it…people coming together to serve the nation..granted, they have their agendas but on some level, they all want to..not out of fear of someone or something…but out of love for our nation…of course, this was back in the early part of this century…when we still believed in the best of those around us…

To give you an example of how far we have fallen, the latest hit about politics is a show that wipes out the President, VP and the Congress in an attack..and let’s some lowly Cabinet Member in charge….so we’ve gone from a hopeful drama..to one that shows how to cope with a disaster…

Maybe 9/11 did us in….emotionally..spiritually….our pessimism has translated into a horrific election season…and  there may be no turning back…

The saddest part is this election has shown the young ones that  hope is a dangerous thing….and the cynicism we show the younger generation will impact our elections for years to come…if we are around that long…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

