Posted by: suek2001 | August 27, 2016

“Rubber Ducky, I’m awfully fond of you”….

It happens every year….I should prepare for it but I never do…..and I never knew how deep it would go but it always does…

It’s the post-Fantasy Camp depression that sets in…..and it’s weird because Camp falls right before my birthday in September..but Camp is so awesome, it turns my birthday into an afterthought…

(Mom is busy sending me cookies and fudge though)…

So, I come back from Camp feeling a bit withdrawn…and then I see it..sitting in the harbor…no, not a really cool ore ship….although we had some cool Tall Ships docked…(nine to be exact)..

It’s all there..in it’s bright..yellow glory…

..the world’s largest Rubber Ducky……

 

This photo was taken from my camera with  zoom lenses…but was taken from my window about ten blocks away…

The Duck is inflatable and floats on water….It is part of the Tall Ships Festival….

Here’s a shot of one of the Tall Ships…

Now, every couple of years we have the Tall Ships…so while it is cool to see, they are here so often, I take them for granted….but a Giant Rubber Duck????

 

Seeing it up close, reminded me of that weird artist Cristof that used to hang curtains in Central Park….as sort of an art experiment….

This was so much cooler..It was in the Duluth harbor..

Oh sure, Duluth loves it’s ships…it’s craft breweries..it’s hiking trails..and hockey games…we brag about our lake…our bridge and our community spirit…

…..but this Duck  set this town on fire when it was here……Lines were formed to get a picture with the duck…People came from cities around the region to pay $15 to get a mini-rubber ducky(you can buy those suckers at Wal-Mart, or so I have heard)…

I finally figured out why we loved this duck….for a couple of reasons…

  1. Adults can say rubber ducky…how often do we get to say that especially single people with no kids? Face it, it’s just fun to say the words “Rubber Ducky”..Try not to smile when you do…
  2. It’s bright yellow….and at night they put a spotlight on it..so it glows..so it lingers long in your dreams…..
  3. With the darkness of our world, the anger in this election, this adds a bit of joy and hope to our world….

 

So, it may be strange..it may be unnecessary but it’s cute…and weird…and since I am cute and weird..I completely understand.. and what I love about the concept, it’s not just a Duluth thing….apparently, it’s made stops all around the nation..a friend told me it was near PA last year and it was the hit of the state….Looking out my window, I can see why…

I had my picture taken with it but the thing is so large, that I looked like I was standing under a giant yellow breast….some kind Facebook friends pointed that out to me…I quickly changed my profile photo….

Still, the after-Camp blues set in and the Duck gave me a lift..as Duluth inches towards fall and the chill of winter….we needed that Duck.to give us one last quack at Summer…

..and now she’s gone..and I am sad..but in my dreams and my photographs, the duck will live on..it’s all it’s 65 stories of duckiness..

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

