Posted by: suek2001 | July 24, 2016

“I’m on the good end of my troubles”

It’s been a rough week for my city..and for some people I know….I have a slight reputation of being an encourager…and at times  that can take a toll on me..but I try…

First, let me start with the biggest story of the week….Amazingly, it has nothing to do with Donald Drumpf…or “Crooked” Hillary…or any of the political BS that has plagued the rest of the country….

Duluth has had a hot weather week…Hot is a relative term..Upper 80’s..low 90’s..with humidity to match….We are used to weather extremes and yes, this is summer but we manage….Duluth is an older city..with older homes..and no real air conditioning…We have the room ones that can  cool a good ten feet of space….or you can skip a car payment and get a portable air conditioner…So, that leaves us in debt to the good people at Holmes fans….I swear our city owns stock in them…at least I do….I have five fans going in my one bedroom apartment..it makes it tolerable…that and ice cream and shedding all clothing helps too…

Duluthians were set for it…until Wednesday Night….Our local weather geeks had been howling to us about severe weather for days…we had downpours and high winds a few weeks ago….and NW Wisconsin got hammered the way we did in 2012..flooding…washed out roads….So, we were good peeps and went straight home after work..canceled plans and made sure we were in bed by 9pm..when the storms were supposed to rage…

They didn’t….and no warnings…no watches were issued..by 10 pm…Our local weather geeks claimed that we would have a chance of a stray shower but nothing more….

Then , I woke up at 3am to find NO signal on any of my channels..I have an “Over the Air anttenna”..So, I knew something was up..lightning filled my room…and I knew the antenna farm had been hit…figuring that was the worst of it…

I went back to bed..and slept…and then got up for work..I was able to find some local news streaming..all they would say was Duluth issued a NO TRAVEL advisory and that power was out in certain places…

Duluth is a town that has desperately wanted to get to a population of 90 thousand…Last I heard, we had 85 thousand….That morning, I heard we had 45 thousand without power…..trees were down..power poles were mangled…and a roof of an old building in Downtown Duluth collapsed…..

I figured we would bounce back within the day…we didn’t…our stations remained off the air for two days…they did their newscasts on Facebook…and my co-workers had told me harrowing stories of trees falling on their houses at 3am…and no power…

There is a fascinating story of a ship that tried to enter the Ship Canal right at the moment the storm hit….

http://www.duluthnewstribune.com/news/4079779-video-captain-fought-keep-freighter-course-duluth-ship-canal-storm-blew

 

The video is embedded but it needs to be seen on it’s own..It’s ten minutes long…but it is terrifying and  fascinating…we could have had our own Gordon Lightfoot song if things had gone differently:

 

I was blessed..our apartment complex never lost power and not one tree was knocked down….all around the town, people couldn’t say that…and as true Duluthians do, we helped out where we could…

Cooling stations were opened…the buses ran for free…and people opened up their homes and refridgerators to those in need..It is amazing to see…

So, those political conventions can go on and tell me what the American Dream is but Duluth really is the dream in action…

As of the last report, about 10 thousand are still without power but I rejoiced when a co-worker finally got hers back…

It’s not just cute to say that without power, you can feel powerless…it’s the truth…and it also leads to the mind believing that you can’t control your life…and care for those you love…

I’ve been trying to”be there” when I can although my fridge space is even too small for my food….and I have one bed in my apartment..mine…so, I couldn’t offer my place…I offered prayers…

As a Christian, that’s what I am trained to do…and yet, it feels so useless at times….and then there are my friends going through their own storms..self-doubt..depression..health issues…and I can only offer them words of encouragement…and prayers….

So, I had all that on my mind today…and I felt everyone else’s stress..and sadness..and I noticed I was beginning to absorb it….until, I delivered a meal to a patient…on the cancer floor..he was cheerful and giving..and he was thrilled to be eating…we exchanged some nice words..and then he said the following:

“I’m at the good end of my troubles”…..and he said that with a broad smile….and I smiled….and I knew….sometimes that’s all you need…

Troubles are not meant to last…they can’t by design….they teach..they show us reality…but on some level, they don’t last…and they make the good times sweeter…

My co-worker is excited to go home and just flip a switch to see the lights…..I know my fellow Duluthians will see the light soon….and I will continue to pray for those that need that encouragement…

..and strength from God to keep on being what God has called me to be…

“..this little light of mine……I’m gonna let it shine”….Everybody Sing!

Leave a Reply

Categories

