Posted by: suek2001 | July 8, 2016

“I Can’t Take the guns anymore..”

Last night I was posting the lyrics to a John Denver song…Sail Away Home…and realizing that song had lyrics that were relevant to today’s dark climate…

It’s an interesting thing…the perspective we see as we age….I recall when I was a teenager, I was convinced, I was born in the wrong decade….I was born in 1971…

My teen years were the Reagan era…..quaint era of “Morning in America”…still, I longed to have lived in the 1960’s…I wrote that in my high school journal….

At some point in the 80’s , the 60’s were remade to be this time of change yet  a time community and people working for peace…plus, the baby boomers got all the cool music….

Yet, the older I get, the more I realize how sad that decade really was..It started off with a near obliteration of mankind thanks to a standoff with Cuba…and then then the murder of a President in front of a crowd of people….and then the violence kept coming…police in riot gear taking on civil rights protesters…with tear gas and attack dogs…black people being hung from trees or just disappearing..Our own FBI compiling file after file on American citizens…Civil Rights leaders murdered…more politicians shot and killed….and then protesters shot and killed on a college campus…and all the while the so-called “living room” war of Vietnam raged and was seeped into the soul of America….

It must have been hell turning on the TV every night….I’m beginning to feel it now…Turning on the news..black people are dying….gay people are dying..cops are dying..so many shot…so many dead…so much misery…

We want to celebrate our nation’s independence..so we hear the warnings to be  vigilant…and we wake up every day trying to live our lives…fear dominates our day…..Part of that is the media…they need the fear to get people to watch..as that means ratings.. and dependence on their spin…

As a Christian, I weep..and pray…and pray….and know the time must be drawing near….as I am sure the faithful thought that back in 1963, the day after the President was killed…so who is to say whether we are in the end times?

As a friend of mine once said “We live in uncertain times but have we ever lived in certain times?”

I am not sure…..Today, I mourn for Philando Castile…..and I mourn for those five police officers in Dallas that were gunned down….and I mourn that the national attention span will move on to something else next week…and these horrific events this week will be a memory to most except those that live nearby…

I mourn that those running this country…or want to run this country…have no clue how to heal all that divides us…for they are part of the problem….

So I shall close with a song…the one I quoted from John Denver…first the lyrics..and then the song itself…It is worth noting the song was written hours after the Ken State shootings in 1970…the more things change…the more things stay the same..

Sail away, sail away home
Sail away, till you are gone
You have so far to go
There’s so much that you don’t know

Dream away, see what you find yeah
Dream away, it’s all in your mind
Things that you like to see
Things that you like to be

Don’t you know, it seems so wrong yeah
Don’t you know, it’s gone on too long
I can’t take the guns anymore
I can’t take the screams anymore

I can’t take the pain
It’s got to stop, it’s got to change
It can’t go on, it can’t go on

Don’t you know, it’s gone on too long, yes
Don’t you know, it seems so wrong
I can’t take the guns anymore
I can’t take the screams anymore

I can’t take the pain
It’s got to stop, it’s got to change
It can’t go on, it can’t go on

We’ll find a way, I know you can
We’ll find a way, I give you my hand

We’re on our way back home
We’ve been a long time gone

Sail away, sail away home
Sail away, sail away home yeah
Sail away, sail away home
Sail away, sail away home yeah
Sail away

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

