Posted by: suek2001 | June 13, 2016

“The TV is on and they know something’s wrong”

It’s a cloudy Sunday evening as I write this….emotionally, this has been a cloudy weekend.

The news out of Orlando is not good…and deeply saddens me….The last report is that 50 people are dead…and 52 people are injured…at a gay bar in Downtown Orlando….

Orlando….Orlando????

When I grew up in Florida, I lived on the Gulf Coast side…just south of Tampa…In Fort Myers..where in the 80’s nothing happened but the Edison Pageant of Lights….Crime and drugs slowly worked it’s way through that community…

By the time, I left Fort Myers, burned out cars and home invasions were a monthly occurrence

Anyone who has ever lived in Florida has had to answer the following question…

“Did you ever go to Disney World?”….My answer was five times in 15 years…but Orlando was nowhere near where I lived…

It is most notable for some great orange groves..and lots of theme parks…attractions…It is a tourist haven….

Untill, this weekend, the thought of Orlando being anything but a place for golf and Space Mountain, seemed far fetched…

I mourn that Orlando may lose that “family friendly vacation spot” image it has cultivated over the years…That industry through the parks, golf courses…emerging tech centers and hotels is something that adds to the joy and the economy of that state….Thanks to the Great Recession, Florida is NOT the center of economic growth…It’s clawing it’s way back to livability bit by bit…

This shooting will mar the image of Florida for a long time..but more than that, it has changed the lives of the people involved…and those who live and work in one of Florida’s largest cities…

My thoughts are a bit scattered on what it all means…God knows bloggers like me will pontificate on the deeper meaning of a mass shooting at a gay club……So, let me say this…this blog will not go that route…

For one moment, let us brush aside the gun control arguments…the radical Islam diatribres…the homophobic tendencies that tend to slither out of the mouths of believers…or the idea of which presidential candidate got it MOST right while trying to pander to ALL our fears….

The facts are this, 50 people are dead…friends..loved ones…co-workers…acquaintences…and a gathering place are gone…and altered forever….This will not just change those that lost loved ones, this will alter Downtown Orlando and the homes and businesses around it…

The one thing that gets me the most is the one area of this shooting I relate to the most….music…

After one of the worst weekends at my job in the last few years, I came home and listened to The Beach Boys…something about Good Vibrations sends me into a trance…I adore that song more than words can say…I needed that release….I needed that hope..I  needed that joy…

I can just sense that Saturday Night is really the night to let loose..after a week of hell at work…or getting dumped….or hooking up with someone that’s true…or celebrating a graduation or an engagement..or the first free night in forever..or celebrating the mere notion of being happy with who you are…..several hundred people gathered to party….and there was music…

Music lifts the spirits…music gives us release…Music washes over us to forget everything…and it exhilirates us into orbit….but add in some friends…some co-workers…some lovers…and get that one tune that sends everyone to the dance floor…and then there’s that moment of community where everyone is together…relishing that moment….and those moments seal themselves in the soul…and they come back in our darkest times…for music never really leaves us…

If I want to look for meaning beyond the bloodshed..and the safety concerns, it is the loss of community in the music….and when the club opens again..if it ever does..I’m sure there will be an armed guard or two..and metal detectors at the door….and again, we’ll settle for security with our enjoyment..but true trust in our surroundings will be gone…

My prayers go out to all those that lost friends and loved ones in Orlando…My heart cries for the families that are looking for their loved ones….My soul weeps for the damage this does to our collective psyche each time a shooting happens…

..and again I pray…God Help us all…

 

Responses

  1. Excellent


Leave a Reply

Categories

