Posted by: suek2001 | February 2, 2016

I believe I could have died today….

I am home from work…and although Mondays can be hellish, this one scared me beyond words…

I’ve had a fear of being fired for whatever reason but I don’t care….after the events of today, that’s something I can handle….

As my loyal readers know, I work at a local hospital…in food service….It pays well..and yet isn’t a career goal but the bills and the student loans get paid..and money for Fantasy Camp is usually there..

My Monday started out without much complaint…except the Top 40 station we were listening to in our work area was giving me a headache…(my morning was spent listening to the awesomely folky songs of The Kingston Trio–so my brain was spoiled..)

I decided the best thing was to get some quiet while passing meals out to patients….that was the last thing I got…

I passed some meals out to some people on one floor..and approached a seldom used bank of elevators….I will admit that I was an idiot as one of the elevators was acting wonky….but it opened to my floor and I proceeded to board..with the two patient meals I had to deliver to another floor…

That’s when the nightmare began….The elevator moved to the next floor but the dinging noise was not operational…it stopped..but the doors did not open…

….and then the elevator seemed to drop about five feet..or maybe a foot…whatever it was, it dropped…and scared me half to death….the noise from it still haunts me hours later….it dropped…then a loud bang/crunch with a two second shake afterwards….It didn’t move any further….

Then an automatic voice said, “We are experience slight technical difficulties”.(in an unnerving cheery tone)..I ran to the elevator wall where the “Emergency Phone” was labelled…pulled the door down..as the elevator moved up one floor..and repeated the same movement..drop..bang..crunch..shake…

I was all set to use the phone when I realized the box was empty….there was no phone to call…..for about ten seconds I felt completely alone…and frightened, as I had no one to reach out too..I pushed the alarm button…all the while the elevator is moving slowly up to the next floor..and doing the same thing..stop..drop..bang crunch..shake…no doors opened…and I heard no one yell,”Okay, we’ll get you out!!!” I was truly on my own..so I did the only thing I could think of,following the Biblical example of Paul and Silas…I thought I would sing songs of worship….as I knew that would calm me down….

I am a Pentecostal…and my brain is usually full of great Pentecostal choruses..but my brain only thought of one…A Catholic hymn sung at funerals:

I have no idea why my brain thought of that…so I started to sing it….”Yo who dwell in the shelter of the Lord….” and I couldn’t think of the lyrics as the elevator continued  the sequence that was scaring me  as it slowly moved to the next floor…

Keep in mind..that automated voice was still gently reminding me of the “slight technical difficulty”…as it lurched upwards….

I gave up singing as the lyrics were disappearring faster than my fear could carry me…and I started getting prayerful..as only a Pentecostal can…

“Okay God..It’s just You and me…no one else is coming for me…You have got to get me out of this..I know of no other way…I don’t care how or what floor..just get me out….I cannot die in an elevator..AT WORK…and have them find me with my head in a cottage cheese and fruit bowl….I need You to get me out…I am crying out to You…I cannot die today!!!”

Then the elevator lurched upwards…and the doors opened to the floor I needed..I ran off that elevator and almost hit the wall in my eagerness to get off that hellish thing…

I must have looked ashen or something because two staffers stared at me with their mouths open…and said, “Did you just get stuck on the elevator?”

I said yes…told my story and their reply was “Oh..that’s why we heard the alarm…”..and then they turned around and finished their paperwork…

The worst part was I still had meals to pass…so I did it but I wasn’t up to my usual friendly standards….

I took the main elevator back down to my work area…and told the information desk what I went through…”Do you want me to let maintenance know?”

I said yes and tell them there is no phone..Her reply was “oh that’s an old elevator”…

Well..something needs to be done…

I told my supervisors…they sort of thought it was funny but scary…Hey, it didn’t happen to them..I was hoping one would say..”Go home and recover from your near death experience” but no such luck….I went back to passing trays….but avoiding the elevator…

I still feel the jerk of that elevator…and although my life didn’t flash before my eyes during the incident…I came close to crying hours later…as I realized I just didn’t want to die at work…or die knowing I was gonna die…Surprise me…

I also knew that I would miss a lot of things..my friends..my Mom and music…and my church…

I am so grateful for all of that..for I actually fought to live to today….and I know that I have something worth fighting for….and I know that I don’t want to die alone…

..and all this at the start of the week…We shall see what tomorrow brings..Just glad God was with me in that elevator….

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

