Posted by: suek2001 | January 24, 2016

Gonna take a sentimental journey…

It’s an overcast morning here in Duluth….yet my mind has wandered back to summer…

The Summer of 1980……It was my first trip to Minneapolis to see my Aunt and Grandma after the big move to Florida….

My Aunt Betsy had planned two major road trips for us…the Black Hills of South Dakota…and Duluth..just two hours north of the metro area…

It was on that first trip that I was given something that I never forgot….

My Aunt had to stop at Triple A to get a map….but Triple A didn’t have maps..they had Triptik’s…..

They were personally designed maps to get us to our destination…..and part of a perk of being a member of Triple A…

These things came in a booklet and were small so my hands could easily grasp them….and they charted the course and the cities on the way to Duluth…

All, these years later, I can still see the colors and the graphics on that Triptik…

Betsy had one made for our trip to Duluth…and I was in charge of it…

..and with that, a map reading skill was born…..I felt so in charge of the trip..at age ten that it seems almost foolish now….yet, that Triptik made me feel like an explorer…

It was years later that I realized what a gift my Aunt and Grandma had given me…for the trip from Minneapolis to Duluth was really a straight shot up I-35..no tricky exits or turns…a simple drive..but they wanted me to feel a part of things….and I did…

This week, I heard that Triple A is discontinuing the Triptik…and it made me sad….as both my Aunt and Grandma are gone…and now the Triptik…as Google Maps are now the thing….

Every day at  my job, people ask me for directions to a parking ramp…to the hospital cafeteria..or where the nearest mall is…and I can give them GREAT directions…I even map them out if need be…..

..and I owe it all to that Triptik….I use directions..street signs and landmarks to help people find their way….Ever since that trip, I have been really good at giving directions…and I have no qualms in answering anyone’s direction questions…

I believe it leads back to that summer….

So, I named this blog after that old standard “Sentimental Journey”…Today is my Grandma’s 103rd birthday…..She passed away 20 years ago next week but her legacy still lives within me….and every now and then little moments come to mind….

..like when I asked her about this song..and all she could remember was the opening line:

 

So, I post that for her…and that journey we took all those years ago…her life impacted mine deeply and it’s been better as a result…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

