Posted by: suek2001 | December 30, 2015

The heart of a mother….

Birthdays are interesting to kids…especially when it comes to our parents…

I think it is harder to appreciate a parental birthday then a sister..a brother..or a friend…

When I was young, I loved my Mom..no doubt but I never forgot she was my Mom..and that authority created a bit of distance between us…

We grew closer as we both aged but her birthday was seen as a non-event in my life when I was younger..particularly when I was a teenager…

It  also didn’t help that John Denver had a birthday the day after hers..

Oh, I recalled his….every year…to no end…and at the height of my worship of him, I sent him a birthday card…

I think I got a form letter back or maybe no response at all…

That same year, I didn’t acknowledge my mom’s birthday…and it hurt her like nothing else…

 

(In my defense, I believed her when she said wanted no gift, no mention of her birthday at all)…

So, that hurt her..and I never knew quite how to make it up to her…

Maybe my mindset was that I wasn’t there on the day she was born so I don’t have that connection to her…as parents do with their children…I’m not sure….

So, as the years flowed by..I did my best to remember her birthday…and barely mention John Denver’s..for fear that I would be reminded of the year I sent him a card and gave him nothing…

…she still reminded me…as guilt trips are her specialty….

We grew closer as friends..and as mother and daughter..and I sent her a funny card with gift cards in it this year…For awhile there, I was sending her three cards at her birthday…

One silly…one spiritual..one on friendship…

I think she only kept a few(as she’s not much of a sentimentalist)…

 

To that end, I called her up…and sang to her the Birthday song….and when I finished she said “There, are you done now?”

After I said yes, she proceeded to tell me that she looked in the mirror and said, “Damn, I’m hot! I looked in the mirror, kid and saw nothing but this adorable face”…

So, I raise a glass of adorableness to my Mom..for I am glad she shared the wealth to me…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

