Posted by: suek2001 | December 25, 2015

Shouting thanks to God…

As I write this, it is Christmas Day 2015……I am sitting alone in my apartment in NE Minnesota…

I wish I were in Florida with my Mom…we would have had our presents open by now..and be munching on cinnamon rolls and trying to find some traditional Christmas carols on the radio…

I have talked with her already…and I still miss her…and the way she bakes her famous Key Lime Pie…

Still, I am here…and this is where God has placed me..I am off from work…my natural work day off..and I plan to enjoy it with fellowship in person and online with friends..

Yet, my heart is a bit heavy this morning..as my best friends is in the hospital…recovering from surgery to remove cancer around his colon….something they found after a routine colonoscopy…The final results will be known within a few days but doctor’s are optimistic they got all the cancer out…

It’s been a tumultuous year for our friendship…We’ve had our arguments and there was a sense of betrayal but we fought hard to regain our friendship..and I think it’s stronger now…

We met in August of 2002…the result of email exchanges after a mutual friend of ours suggested we meet….

We met for coffee at a bookstore and we shared jokes for about four hours…

It was amazing…..in the past 13 years, we have shared music, films…TV shows…and various concerts…both classical and folk..and enjoyed folk dancing and polka parties.

Seann McGovern is not just a person to meet but a person to experience..and I am forever blessed that I have experienced Seann all these years…

His joy and radiance is evident..and he makes friends easily…and it seems that wherever we go, someone knows him…He has a strong sense of Catholic faith…and that has broadened my sense of worship to God..although I will never convert from my Pentecostal ways, I respect his practices and what he believes…..it has enhanced my faith…

The thing with Seann..and I’m believing most guys in general, he really has no idea the impact he has had on me..and on so many others…

Sometimes, we go through life thinking that we made very little difference in others lives…and that’s a trap a lot of single people fall into….as society says the legacy you leave is your family…your spouse..your kids…your grandkids…

If you’re single and don’t have that, it can be difficult to see that…and in Seann’s case, I know he feels insecure about whether or not people love him or just laugh at his jokes..

I can tell you that he has impacted my life…..I have lived in this town for about 14 years..and I can tell you my life would be different without him…

Seann is a friend that cares….that listens..and can reason any problem out….His giving spirit has helped me get to the grocery store whenever I need it..encouraged me to keep pushing when I get rejection letter after rejection letter during a very long job search..

Some of our long running jokes are hard to blog about…but just thinking of them makes me smile…

He has had an impact on my church too..They love him and appreciate him..and his humor..they have prayed over him and I know he prays for their needs…

His prayers have impact…His smile has impact…I’m sure others would say they love his voice..as he leads Mass..and that voice leads people to God…and that is a mighty way to impact people…

When I posted about his surgery on Facebook, I was delighted to see all of my friends and his friends respond to  it with prayers and good wishes…

His life has had an untold impact and I know that God is pleased with him as he gives of his love and time so often to others…and in those moments…we realize we are not alone…

So, Seann McGovern..on this Christmas morning..I give thanks to God for you..for your love..for your faith…for your friendship….

It’s amazing to think that through that little child all those years ago, we gained saving grace through God….through His Son..and through His Spirit…

..and in seeking that holy truth through Christ, we entered into a fellowship with Christ and in turn a fellowship of believers…amazing….

I thank You Lord for all of that..and for the friendship that Seann McGovern has offered to me…

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Sue … all that you lovingly say of Seann is True – not just of him, but of You.
    You see, I have been constantly Blessed by each of you – and the bond you share. My Prayers continue …

    Rex


Leave a Reply

Categories

