Posted by: suek2001 | December 11, 2015

Saying goodbye to a friend…

I was going to post something on Facebook…but it just seemed too trite…

This morning I heard of the passing of someone I knew…but never met…

His name was Steven Donaghey…..cancer claimed him…DAMN…

 

Steven and I only knew each other through an email discussion group known as Bloodlines…a place to discuss the music and the life of singer-songwriter John Stewart…

We traded emails about The Beatles…Kingston Trio..John Denver..Jay and the Americans.. all kinds of music…

We never got to know each other that deeply..as it’s hard to do in a discussion group but sometimes seeing that name in my inbox, I knew there was something worthwhile reading…

Steven was also a bassist for John Stewart….when John would tour the East Coast…I never got to see John or Steve live but I did see a webcast with John from Passim’s one evening…

I had AOL dial-up at the time and  I was able to see it clearly..on my little Compaq desktop monitor(the POS that it was)…and the music filled my one room apartment…as I felt really connected to the music..to the artist…and to other fans…

I’ll never forget that…and truth be told, I can’t think of anything deeper to say…

I am just tired…tired of watching cancer claim another life..tired of praying for healing for friends…and not seeing results…tired of losing friends too damn early…

Steven was young..too damn young to leave this earth….

I have said it before, this year has been a rough one for friends..and I’ve even had some rough moments  so it cannot end soon enough…

..but here’s the thing…Steven’s gift of music…of laughter…of stories…will live on…and yeah, it sounds trite to say but it can’t be trite if they MEAN something…

..and Steven meant something to a LOT of us…

So, goodbye Steven…..please say hello to John, Nick and Dave…and some of our other friends who have gone too soon….and may we all meet again….where the river meets the sea..

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

