Posted by: suek2001 | October 21, 2015

Memories of “The Future”….

Today is “Back To the Future Day”…supposedly, the day that Marty Mcfly and Doc Brown arrive in the Hill Valley of the future…

A lot of press has come to this day…and tons of articles are all about what the second installment of that trilogy got right…and wrong…

I prefer to think of how we have changed…maybe how I have changed in 30 years…

The original movie made it’s debut in July of 1985…..I was about to turn 14 years old….I was visiting my Aunt and Grandma for the summer in Minneapolis…If my memory serves me right, I believe that was our road trip to Chicago…..

I wrote about that in another blog:

https://suek2001.wordpress.com/2010/05/05/chicago-some-thoughts/

So, I was too busy to see the movie “Back To The Future”…

That fall, Mom and I finally saw it..She wanted to see it as it seemed to celebrate the ’50’s..which was her childhood…and she loved Christopher Lloyd from “Taxi”..I wanted to see it because of my huge crush on Micheal J. Fox..

As with any other teenager,  my Ricky Schroder poster of my ‘tween years would come down off the wall for my Micheal J. Fox poster from “16” magazine…

It was a promo poster with “Marty” holding a stopwatch and a lightning strike over his head…I loved that poster..and I loved Fox….

I tried looking for an image of that poster but couldn’t find one to share in this blog but I found this one..and it’s just dreamy..

Ahhh..those were the days…I would grow up and grow out my crush on Fox and move on to banjo and guitar players…Now, my walls are plastered with pictures of The Kingston Trio and John Denver…and those teen posters are buried in boxes…

Of course, the first film would be a smash….and then the two films would follow…and yet in the post 9/11 world we live in, the trilogy is a nice reminder that once we dreamed big…we dream that so much was possible…and if you really want a fun treat, try watching the entire Trilogy in one sitting…I did that in college one rainy Sunday..and by the end, I felt a great sense of nostalgia mixed with hope for the future…To me, The “Future” trilogy is my generation’s “Star Wars” trilogy…

Looking at Back To the Future 2 now, it seems so sad…Our reality is much different than that of the fictional 2015….Whitney Houston and Micheal Jackson didn’t live to see this day…and Fox, himself is battling Parkinson’s disease…

So, why does this Trilogy matter? Think back to 1985…the year before, the media hyped how horrible life would be because we were living in George Orwell’s future of 1984…and the darkness of the Cold War…and the threat of Big Brother was looming..but at that time, quaint..

Now, Russia is again our enemy..or at least funding it..and our current administration embraces Big Brother..without nary a complaint from the people…

The Trilogy matters for the hope that series..no one’s future has been written yet..it is truly up to us….and as those Rock Prophets of Huey Lewis and The News sang long ago:

You don’t need money, don’t take fame
Don’t need no credit card to ride this train
It’s strong and it’s sudden and it’s cruel sometimes
but it might just save your life
That’s the power of love

–Huey Lewis, “Power of Love”…

Leave a Reply

Categories

