Posted by: suek2001 | September 6, 2015

“You better wake up the child”..

Today is John Stewart’s birthday…I have been trying to figure out what to say about this man..his music..and the impact he had on my life…

I really can’t think of anything that has yet to be covered in a blog…although there is one song that comes to mind…

I will not go into detail but I had some personal drama in my life right around the time I moved to Duluth..It involved a church I attended..and a man that had less than honorable intentions….This happened around 2002 or so…

It’s an interesting thing…a few months before this drama went down, I received the John Stewart album “Lonesome Picker Rides Again”…It immediately became my favorite album of anything in my collection..

..and the beauty of John Stewart songs is that they can be taken on so many different levels..”Road Shines Bright” can be an anthem for someone rebuilding their faith..their church or just saying to hell with belief in general..It had ALL of that meaning for me…

..and there are days when our weather is grey and miserable..and “Touch of the Sun” becomes an anthem of sorts…

..and of course, when I am in Scottsdale,I hum “Swift Lizard” as I make my way to the Suites and concerts…

..and lately “Little Road and A Stone to Roll” reminds me that everyonehas a story..a burden or just something to share worth listening to…

Still, the one song that meant a lot to me at the time of all my personal drama is “Wolves in the Kitchen”…The song was written in the early to mid 1970’s as Watergate and the Nixon administration was at a fever pitch of corruption…

The song was an angry answer to all that…Still, the lyrics spoke of dangers that lurk and how to protect people from the wolves that would devour…

There is a verse that just got to me:

“Pretty little girl, standing at the bus stop,

sticking out her young thumb as the cars go by

Pretty Little girl, better keep your legs crossed

I hate to see you get lost, on a long, long ride”

Something about that spoke to me…reminding me to watch myself..and where this new journey in a new city would take me…

I had so much anger..so much emotion aimed at the people that were causing me pain at that time..they ALL felt like wolves..coming for me…

I must have played that song about 20 times a week…and in certain moments, when rage was the only thing I could feel, it would be the song that would keep me from self-destructing or hurting anyone else…

Now, that seems like a lifetime ago…It’s 2015 and for the most part, I am happy with how my life is..and I am grateful to God that He carried me through that…

Still, John Stewart’s music was and is a tool used by God to navigate certain areas of my life…

I am betting that John had NO idea of the impact his writing would have decades later…

The final footnote to this is that when I was at Fantasy Camp this year, the John Stewart Band did this song..and I was overjoyed….

I still love it..and I take it as a song of victory..I took on the wolves..and won…with God…and John Stewart music…

..and here’s a link to the song “Wolves in the Kitchen”…Crank it up!

Responses

  1. You have no idea how well I can relate to this entry, on SO many levels… Thank you! My album that I went to was Joni Mitchell’s Hissing of Summer Lawns. I wasn’t aware of John Stewart’s music outside of the Kingston Trio at that time. Thanks to Peter Overly and Paul Rybolt for that ultimate awakening! I hate that I never had the honor and opportunity to meet him. I would tell him how much I love him first of all, and then how special his music is for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

