Posted by: suek2001 | August 10, 2015

“Will I grow up to be a man?”

I took my title from a Beach Boys tune….

I read recently that Target was going to rid itself of gender-specific categories when it comes to toys and other things…

I know trandgenderism is the new wave of  a social issue that we are supposed to care about..and if there’s anything Corporate America loves, it’s to appear trendy…

This blog won’t be about the transgender community as I am not a member of that community nor do I have anyone close to that community…I have questions about it but I am just not that curious to find the answers…

No, this will be about foisting adult ideas onto kids..in a very basic way…

In about a month, I will turn 44 years old..so my childhood is in a distant path at this point…so my memories are a bit hazy but I do recall being transfixed by the toy department…Clancy’s Department Store at 50th and France in Edina MN had a killer toy departmant…it took up their entire basement…

(..they also had a great grilled cheese sandwich in their soda shop but that’s not why you called..)

Oh did I love spending hours there…and what did I look at? I had no interest in dolls..barbies or dream houses…I was in love with Hot Wheels or racing sets…

I wanted two things more than anything else as a kid..A Hot Wheels Sto-and Go Parking Garage…and one of those race tracks that ran up the wall and had lights on it…

Man, they looked cool…I wanted to collect all the cars I could find…I had a few..including the Dukes of Hazzard car collection(yes, even a General Lee with that horrid Rebel Flag)…

Mom didn’t have much money and I never could get the race track or the Hot Wheels Sto-and Go Parking Garage…My Aunt and Grandma got me some toys but they weren’t the most exciting..nothing like those cars…

The thing that kept me from getting all those cars was money..and Mom had no problem that I wasn’t into dolls..I think I broke my Aunt’s heart by not being into horses..but she learned to accept who I am..

So, with Target removing the “boy”.. “Girl” label from toy aisles it really makes no difference…

If children are interested in certain toys, they will find them out in the fastest way possible..If parents are understanding, they will let kids play with what interests them..and not give them lectures on the why..let them have fun…

So, signs should really make no difference…

I never did get my Hot Wheels garage…I never did get that racing track that went up the side wall…and yet, I survived….In fact,I am blessed…

So, giving kids everything doesn’t always work..and kids can survive NOT getting their dream toys…

One bonus thought, I do not own a car nor do I have a strong interest in driving…

Hmmm..maybe not having that race track did have an impact on me…

Leave a Reply

Categories

