Posted by: suek2001 | August 6, 2015

“I Want to Live at Fantasy Camp”

I can’t stop thinking of my experiences at the Kingston Trio Fantasy Camp…It has so many layers of unexpected joy…It’s hard to put into words…

In the previous entry, I wrote about how it feels like a family reunion…but there’s more to that..

Fantasy Camp has a loose structure to it..There are seminars and gatherings both musical and educational during the day…Some go to that but none is required…if you are a part of the reunion anyway…About the only thing we all do attend is the concerts at night..and a special dinner on a Friday night…

If you are a camper, it’s a whole different feel but I cannot speak to that…

Let’s talk about the Scottsdale Plaza Resort…we’ve been blessed to have it there for a lot of years..and the rooms and the staff have been top notch on most occassions…It is a five star hotel..at least to me….

In Duluth, we have a fancy hotel that is nowhere near as luxurious as the Plaza…nestled in a valley with mountains around, it has an interesting vibe…

There are two places where you’ll often find people gathered..One is the hotel bar/eatery that serves a decent menu and has a nice set up of large screen TV’s where you can watch anything from the news to arm wrestling with a bit of baseball thrown in…and apparently, they have addicting popcorn on the table..(I’m not a popcorn person)..Their staff knows the Campers and the Reunioners..and they welcome us with their humor, their great service and sometimes their musical talents…

The other place where people gather is in a large suite of rooms called “The Hospitality Suite”..This is a place where people can talk…or play music..or even do some knitting…

For a nominal fee, there is plenty of beverages..both in the adult variety and the soda and water varieties…and snacks…This is where I started my love of wheat thins…and this year, it was cheesy Doritoes and goldfish…

I must give my kudos to the staff of the Hospitality Suite and the staff of the Camp in general..The Camp really runs smooth with no issues..that are obvious to me….They really go all out to make everyone feel welcome and feel like they are a part of the family…and with close to 100 people signed up to be in the Suites, that can be a challenge…

Take all those personalities..people from all over the world..throw in a bit of alcohol..desert heat and musical differences and have a week of flawless activity..that’s amazing…

I can only imagine the secret ingredients must be love..love for people..love for the music…and patience…I would suspect there must be plenty of that…

So, in the midst of all this interaction, a strange phenomenon happens…we interact with people outside our comfort zone…Everyone has people  they know and trust over the years..We call them our peer group…and there is a tendency to draw yourself to those you know best…especially, if you are insecure and shy like I am…but somehow we manage to sit and talk with people that are different in politics and religion and age…and we treat each other well..

Musicians can change in and out of circles…Members of the Kingston Trio come in and jam..and it’s rarely ever a showcase just for one person..the others help and then cede the spotlight to let the music take over…

People can click together that have never met and perform amazing songs and have great conversations in a matter of moments…

It is one of the greatest joys of Camp…and it’s not just one night…or not just in the Suites….It happens in the restaurants too..

If I were to go into a restaurant alone here in Duluth, I would end up alone..and feeling a bit conspicuous as I would sit all by myself…

In the restaurants at the hotel, I rarely ate alone..I would have people come in that I knew briefly from the Suites and join me…Sometimes I didn’t know them well but within an hour, we are all old friends…

I don’t know if I can ever express in a blog how much this whole week has meant to me..and I feel sad that John Stewart, the founder of this Fantasy Camp, is no longer with us…

I just hope that my friends know how much I love them..and the organizers know how deeply their work touches the hearts of those who attend…

It is why I count down to the days to Fantasy Camp on Facebook..and why I am grateful that even from my own living room, I can connect to these people through Facebook…

Tom Delilse..the irreverent MC of the nightly shows got it right…”I Want To Live at Fantasy Camp”

Responses

  1. Sue; Excellently done!! Great to see you again this past summer.

  2. […] (and another blog plug here :https://suek2001.wordpress.com/2015/08/06/i-want-to-live-at-fantasy-camp/) […]

  3. […] https://suek2001.wordpress.com/2015/08/06/i-want-to-live-at-fantasy-camp/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

