Posted by: suek2001 | July 31, 2015

“I love to sing these songs for you..”

Right now, I am taking part in the Kingston Trio Fantasy Camp…I have blogged about it elsewhere but this won’t be a blow by blow account of that…

(…did that a few years ago…)

I am running on collectively ten hours sleep for the week..so this blog may not make a lot of sense but it is a thought I want to get out to the world…

One of the joys of this Camp is the love of music…and the love that musicians have for the music…

Playing an instrument and singing are a big part of the experience..

I can do neither…I love music but have no talent in playing it..and my singing ranges from lounge singer to Bob Dylan have an asthma attack…

Still, I sing anyway..in the background..

I heard a conversation about someone who worried about not progressing in their musical craft….and I hurt for them…

So, this blog is for those who are not naturally gifted in music but want to add to the world of it…

This may seem like a cop out on some level but fans are just a important as the players…

I have been to several musical concerts over the years and the right audience makes all the difference..The act on stage will give a much as they can but the energy the audience gives to them makes the concert that much better…

Musicians are needy on some level..they have a desire to share their vision with the world…Sitting at home and singing to a wall doesn’t cut it for them..

So, most of them perform on stage or in small clubs..or to a room full of friends…They need their voices to be heard…because when they realize they are being heard, the magic happens..

Music has an ability to transform the soul..those who perform it are transformed by letting their art into the world…yet, that transformation is NOT complete untill their gift is received by others..

That’s where fans come in….As I sat in some rooms with people last night, I realized that I may not offer the right notes to sing or play..and barely recall the words to songs I adore, I still matter…and those of us listening still matter…we all make up the musical community…

There is such a power in being a fan..and there is such a power in being a player…they both need each other…so when someone asks “Do you play an instrument?”  I feel a bit out of place because I don’t..but I know in my heart that the love I have for the music, means a lot to the players involved…

So, play on…in those music classes..and you’re not thinking you’re progressing..as long as you let it fill you, you are sharing some good with the world..

So, sing on…even if your voice can shred wallpaper at times..for you are a facilitator of the music…

Musicians, singers and fans are all part of the plan to bring the awesome power of music to the world!

Responses

  1. “fans are just a important as the players

    I have been to several musical concerts over the years and the right audience makes all the difference..The act on stage will give a much as they can but the energy the audience gives to them makes the concert that much better” — Susie Q.

    Amen. There have been times I’ve sung / played and had the audience / congregation not get into singing with me. It is such an energy drain. Other times they respond greatly to the music and it fills me greatly with energy.

    I hate it when The Singing Slovenes are background to an audience. It’s almost like practicing with people who really don’t care.

    Good analysis, my friend.

    Seann

  2. […] https://suek2001.wordpress.com/2015/07/31/i-love-to-sing-these-songs-for-you/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

