Posted by: suek2001 | June 26, 2015

On this historic day…Love is law?

Just heard that the US Supreme Court overturned bans on same sex marraige…

I know some of my friends will be thrilled at this news..and I know others will be dissapointed….and others will see it as a sign of the end of the age…

I just know one thing, just because the Supreme Court settles an issue does not mean it settles the debate…

When the Supreme Court overturned the Death Penalty, the debate still raged…when the court re-instated the Death penalty, debate still raged…

A few years ago, the Court took up a case that made it seem like corporations are people…and declared that corporations are people(a sort of conservative collective, if you will)…and 15 years later, people STILL are mad at the Bush-Gore election outcome…

So, where does that leave us today? It validates marriages that states wouldn’t grant…and there may be cries of civil disobediece from certain leaders against this new way of thinking..and there will be “The world is going to hell and Jesus is coming back” type proclamations….(I’ve heard one of those today already)…

Yet, I am hoping that we all remember one thing..we are all in this together..Whether you support marriage equality…or find it abhorrent, we are all people that feel something…and the morality debate will go on..

The legal debate may be ending..and the Left needs to understand that just because the courts say it IS so, doesn’t make society embrace it any faster…

The Right needs to listen to this ruling..and realize it IS the law…and there must be away to bring this nation together without polarizing it..

Both sides do this…and both sides lose the very notion that we are ALL Americans…

I have my opinions on whether same sex marriage should be legal or even moral but I choose not to share them…and I am friends with gay people that are married or wish to marry someday…I am also friends with people that can’t fathom why God would allow such a thing..and believe in the man-woman definition of marriage…

They all are people I love…and respect…and people I pray for when they have needs..God has called me to love…and I try my best…I fail at it repeatedly but I try my best…

We will survive and move forward after today…Tomorrow, there will be more sadness..more joy…more fear…more uncertainty…more music…more friends..and more work…

This decision will change nothing and everything….

The time is NOW, to decide how we react to each other..and how we love one another…

Leave a Reply

Categories

