Posted by: suek2001 | June 24, 2015

“…Don’t know much about history..”

I saw a headline that Warner Brothers is discontinuing the current model car for the General Lee from The Dukes of Hazzard…and I shook my head….

The notion that the Confederate Flag must go is an interesting one…

First, let me state that I am a Northerner at heart…. I lived in Florida for 15 years but my heart always belonged in NE Minnesota…

I can understand why some people wanted the flag to come down off the Memorial Grounds in South Carolina…It is a symbol of oppression to many people in the black community…

My stance is not from that viewpoint..for I am as white as can be…My stance is that it should come down because the Civil War is over and to fly it now is basically a rebel’s stance against what so many fought and died for…Lincoln died for the Stars and Stripes…and it should really be the flag that flies higher than the others…

Aside from that, I think what bothers me is the whole movement now to remove any trace of Southern history from courthouses or other public squares….and turn anyone who spoke out in favor of slavery as person non grata…

In essence, let’s erase that part of our history…which confounds me…

We need those memorials and names on the bridges, parks and county seats..They ARE a part of our American History…and to scrub all that way because it makes people feel uncomfortable is wrong…

Let’s get to the heart of things…one of the peculiar aspects of the Charleston shooter’s history is his fascination with the Trevon Martin case..He wanted to learn more about it..and instead of picking up a newspaper or talking to local civic leaders, he went online…and was directed to hate-filled sites that told him the “truth” he was seeking..and gave him justification for his inner demons..

When I heard that, it brought to mind several conversations I had with young co-workers in the last year..all of these kids were in their late teens and early 20’s..and none of them could tell me who won the American Civil War..They guessed everything from Russia..to Alaska…and Mexico..

Apparently, they fell asleep in their history classes…and that’s the problem.we teach the kids how NOT to bully..how to eat lunch properly..and the best way to have protected sex but we don’t teach history?

These people need to know ALL of their history..for they will be leaders of tomorrow..Do we want future leaders to be uninformed..so when national crises hit, they just go to Wikipedia for all their answers?

So, to erase history..all of it because slavery was supported at one point in our nation, is to miss the point..keep those memorials and names..teach them to our children…and they will LEARN from it and realize that we are all God’s people..we are ALL a part of the family of man..

So, when we march for justice, we do it with passion AND full knowledge…

..and as I close, I think of the Native American tribes that wonder why their voices are not heard…

..oh yes, that’s right, football is sacred..history is not…

Leave a Reply

Categories

