Posted by: suek2001 | May 10, 2015

A tribute to my Mom….

Today is Mother’s Day…and it falls on my weekend off from work..and I feel so far away from her at times but thanks to unlimited long distance, the miles dissapear..

The older I get, the more I realize how wonderful my relationship with my Mom is…Some say we are too close but with all the struggles we’ve been through, it is an outgrowth of survival…

My parents divorced when I was about one year old…I never knew a two parent household..Mom never sought to remarry when I was younger…I think she knew that she’d have to be there for me…

So a single parent she would be…and today, we love to tout how inclusive we are of all types of families but in the “hip” era of the 70’s and early 80’s, divorce was still something that was rarely talked about outside of “hip” media and societal discussions..

Single mothers were told their kids were going to be bank robbers or drug dealers or homeless…and all the other things people say when they don’t know what they are talking about…

My mom was told by several doctors to give me away because my health problems were too much..my lazy eye..my clef pallete..my ear infections…and the fact they thought I was “mentally challenged”..or as they put it back then “retarded”..

The thing is my Mom was a fighter…She had to be..She grew up as the youngest of two sisters..and not feeling loved or appreciated for who she was..So, she fought for attention..She fought back against all the low expectations her family had..and she vowed,, she would not to do that to me…

So, she basically told the doctors to take all their advice and shove it…

She spent most of my first ten years taking me to doctor appointments…and as a result, she didn’t work much..which led to us being poor…but she wanted the best for me…

I grew up poor in material things but somehow I managed to eat good food..sleep in a decent bed and have a roof over my head….She gave me a stereo once..saved up all her money for it too…and that allowed me to slip into the wonderful world of music…

Mom did so much for me that I can never repay her…

The best thing she ever did was live a life of Christ…She showed me what Christ’s love and compassion were..She taught me to care for animals and respect my elders..and appreciate growing old…

She taught me that whenever things look bleak, that a cry out to God would ease the pain..and wait for that “blessed assurance”…

Through Mom;s steadfast love and faith, we never lacked for anything…and when we could. we gave to others…

She’s not a young kid anymore..and neither am I..and both of us are watching each other grow old in certain ways…but every day, we manage to talk..to pray..to share..and to love each other through the phone…

She lives in Florida now and is retired…where she bakes cookies and pies for friends and neighbors..looks after her two cats and looks after her neighbors…She’ll attend church this morning where they will fawn all over her…and she’ll thank God for what He has done..and pray for healing for others…

She is my Mom….and I love her…and she is God’s gift to me..

Leave a Reply

Categories

