Posted by: suek2001 | April 28, 2015

When I woke up this morning, you were on my mind….

The clock is about to strike Midnight as I write this…Soon, it will be April 28th…

It’s hard to believe, it will be seven years since Elizabeth Ann Scott passed away…

She was my Aunt Betsy…..and our relationship was a close one..for years…

I spent summers in Minneapolis visiting her….She was always at the airport to greet me.along with my Grandmother…

Seven years later, and I still see her fingers tapping to the music on the steering wheel of her car….those road trips were something special..

I will admit the last five years or so, we sort of outgrew each other….She would pursue her interests in horses…and I would move to Duluth..we didn’t see each other all that much but when she visited, it was like old times…in a way..she still saw me as the 10 year old girl that visited her every summer…and I chafed under that view…

Still, I guess that’s how adults feel about kids they’ve known all their lives..

I think about how my life is now…and I know that she would be proud of my full-time job…and great life in Duluth..Oh she’d wonder why I am not married or have some grand writing career but she would know that I am taking care of myself….and that the gift of music she gave me years ago, still lingers…

It’s been seven years..she’s still gone….and there’s not a day goes by where I don’t think of her…and realize how much of her presence I took for granted…and some of her personality annoyances were just signs of her getting old…

My Mom and my Aunt never truly were close..so any memory I have of Betsy is really mine alone now…with Grandma gone….I have no one that really knew her the way I did…

Her husband Micheal knew her…and loved her..and somehow..age and race differences were overcome and they made their marriage work…

Still, he wasn’t there when she and I rode the alpine slide on Lutsen mountain for the first time…and we raced to the bottom…and I beat her because she was worried that I would ride too fast….

He wasn’t there as we sat at my first John Denver concert in 1986 and quietly sang to “Shanghai Breezes”…right along with him…

He didn’t feel that touch of love and joy when I would get postcards from Minneapolis or Duluth addressed to “Susie Keller, PD” while stranded in Florida for 15 of the longest years of my life…

(A side note, I earned the title “PD”..It was short for “Program Director”..apparently, I was in charge of the agenda of where we went.on family road trips..even had a badge with that on it…..I never really was but they wanted me to feel important…I WAS however, in charge of the maps and that led me to be fantastic in giving and understanding directions later in life..)

He wasn’t there that last time, we spotted a Minnesota Timberwolf near Silver Bay, MN on our last drive up the North Shore together…and we almost hit it as it ran across the road…Betsy grabbed the steering wheel and drove off the road in shock at what we saw…

All those memories are mine alone now…..and they all come alive in the music we listened to….and every time I hear The Kingston Trio’s new album “Born At the Right Time” or chat with friends from my Kingston Trio Fantasy Camp, I ache that she is not here to share in those gifts that have been given to me…

We had our time on this earth….and I know we shall see other again someday……untill then, I have the music…

Leave a Reply

Categories

