Posted by: suek2001 | April 27, 2015

In a far off land–some thoughts on Nepal..

I love going to church on the Sundays I do get to go…my work schedule has made it an every other week event for me but I still love going when I can…

I love seeing my friends…and sharing stories..and blessings and coffee…I love praising my God and singing the modern songs but there are times when it is hard to sing that song “You Are Good”……

It’s been said that modern Evangelical Christians love to take what they can from worship and make it what they like…Sort of a consumer-driven theological experience….

There’s truth to that..and I always thought I shied away from that…’till today…I have never faked worship in all the years of going to church..I have been a pathetic worshiper when I have struggled..I have sat stone-faced in church because I can’t fake it…but today, I faked it abit…

Why? images from Nepal……How in the world can I sing about a “Good” God when a world away, more than a thousand people are dead….and ancient buildings are gone..and people’s lives are forever changed?

Don’t get me wrong..I don’t doubt God’s love for me..for mankind..but there are days I just don’t get Him…

Most horrible acts that happen, we can blame on circumstance..or on mankind’s penchant for self-service…or the always theological answer..free will…Man has the choice to be good or not..and God is a “great” God to allow that….but when natural disasters happen such as earthquakes or tornadoes…I wonder…

I know out of something horrific, man has a chance to show it’s best side but the point that confuses me is how we get there….

I am a strong believer in God giving us the sun, moon and stars..and giving us mountains and rivers and oceans…I am not one of those that thinks the Earth is only thousands of years old…I know that God created it all and implemented the scientific methods to help us figure things out..and there will always be things we may never know…

..but earthquakes stump me…I will never understand why God allows them to happen…I can’t buy into the whole mantra preachas get into with “God is punishing people for sin”..I would love to argue that Jesus paid it ALL already…so sacrifice is not neccesary…

..still…Why?

I am not writing this saying I am questioning my faith…I am not…I am just being honest is saying “I have no idea why God did this..”..and it would be nice if my fellow believers would say the same…

I’ve read all the things about “Why God lets bad things happen”..and even read Job because people say it has the answers…never been happy with the “test of faith” answer…I actually think it was to show Job how unreliable his family and friends were..or faithless they were…

I don’t have the answers….I think Christians would do themselves some good if we admitted we haven’t got a clue how God works or what His motives are….

I know some agnostics, atheists and the scientific minds out there are dying to let me know why I shouldn’t believe and what a fool I am to continue to, but I think they could learn a lesson too…

Sometimes people use the horrible things like Nepal to NOT beleive or to STOP believing in a loving God…and that’s wrong too..there is a lot of goodness in God..a lot of healing in His power..a lot of joy to be had with a walk in Christ…and I have seen it and felt it all…but sometimes..just sometimes, I just want to yell out “What are you thinking?” to the heavens above…

I’m sure God wonders that about me as well…We’ll have a long talk when this life is over…but for now, my prayers are with Nepal….and maybe ..just maybe  the word WHY? is a powerful prayer too…

Leave a Reply

Categories

