Posted by: suek2001 | March 24, 2015

For the joy of pickles……

I think men have it easier when it comes to having a mid-life crisis…they grab a toupee..empty their bank accounts for a sports car and hit a college bar to pick up 20 something chicks with daddy issues…

I have felt like I am in the midst of a mid-life crisis of sorts…..I have a full head of hair..so no toupee needed….I don’t drive..so no sports car needed ..and I don’t play for that team so no young college girl needed…

I DO wish I had the body of a young 20 something girl though….In the last few months, I have had some health issues..high blood presure…overweight..and an esophogus that loves to be introverted…and I had my first mammogram….(not horrifying but not pleasant either)..I have had my fill of doctor appointments in the last two months..

I am now on blood pressure meds..take prilosec..and have learned to read labels and fear chewing anything larger than a thumbprint….so my blood pressure is down…and my weight has gone down…

I’m being told I need to do this for a long and healthy life….oh yeah, I’m also shrinking in height…and that bothers me more than it should…as weight and overall health, I can control but height, I cannot….and couple being short in stature with short arms, it feels like a losing battle to fit into a world created for anyone over 5 foot 5…

So, I have taken to wondering..wondering what it all is for…I know that I have a grand purpose in God..I know that I have friends and a mom that love me but at the age of 43, I am still single and no kids..so I wonder why must I live a long, healthy life? For whom do I do this?  I’m struggling with wanting my independence and wanting to know that I have a role to play on this planet…and when you’re single, you really do live for yourself…

So, all that was playing in my head for a week…and then I went to work yesterday…I work in the kitchen area of hospital…I pass trays of food to paitents…

I was delivering a tray that only had pickes..four..sliced…dill pickles…to a room..I was a bit surprised that it wasn’t the maternity ward but another floor…

I walked in and did my cheery routine..and the lady was overjoyed…at the mere sight of her pickles..I told her that I was there to help her get pickled..and she laughed…She had a smile as large as sunshine….and then she said:

“You have no idea how you just made my day…I started chemo this week..it’s all new to me..and I used to love sweets..but with chemo, it just doesn’t taste good to me..I’m trying to find something that tastes good to me…and yesterday, I had pickles and they were wonderful. So, thank you for this…I will savor it”..

Her joy at something so simple in the midst of a challenging time…reached me..Here she was…undergoing chemo…cancer had been spoken over her…and yet, she didn’t want to lie back and take it..she still wanted a reason to fight..and a plate full of pickles was a reason to fight…

I saw her later in the day and we talked again….She was concerned that she was bothering me by asking for food..or asking for more pickles. and she worried that people might think she was a nut…and I told her it was a pleasure to deliver them…I told her many of the paitents I deal with have no idea where they are or what their name is..so, for her to know her strong desire for pickles and her basic sense of what she was going through..is a great thing…

I prayed for her healing as I left the room..and I thanked her as well…For, maybe if I do nothing else but deliver pickles to a woman looking for hope and joy, then that is my true purpose…

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

