Posted by: suek2001 | March 2, 2015

They are a promise of the future…and a blessing for today…

As most of my friends and long time readers of this blog know, I have no children..never wanted any..

When I was a kid, I didn’t like kids all that much..they oozed too many liquids in too many places….were noisy..and had no sense of order….So, I never babysat anyone…Mom was awesome in the fact that she never pressured me to get married to give her grandchildren..all these years later she still doesn’t..

I’m over 40 now..and nearing an age where children will not be a reality for me…and I am fine with that..although, there is sadness is knowing that one of my supposedly natural functions as a human being will be gone…and the choice of being childless is no longer mine…

Still, I have grown to like some kids…and I don’t fear them although too many would drive me up a wall….so I think my warming up to the them is a great, first step…

Why do I write all this? I am awake at an early hour and thinking about a friend who is about to give birth to a baby girl..her first child…

She’s a young kid but she’s brave to do this and give this child a chance at life…

In this dark, sad time, a chance at life is sometimes the best we can hope for…

We can get into the semantics of climate change, gun violence, poverty and all of society’s ill’s as a reason NOT to have kids but I think we should…’

For in every new life, there is hope….in every new smile, there is joy…We are all put on this earth for a reason….and just the mere thought of someone’s best friend being born today..someone’s marraige partner being born today..

Some great author,poet, artist, banjo player will be born today..is hope…

We need their gift of support…we need their gift of love…we need their creative juices….and it’s not just in the creative arts where lies the hope…

We need hope in the medical field where diseases rage and no cures are found..we need scientists to figure out some mysteries while giving us new ones….and giving us a way back to the heavens before we lose ourselves in the pedantics of life…

I have no idea if Hazel (my friend’s baby girl) will do any of those things but I know she will bring joy to her parents…to her Aunt..and all her other family relations…

I smile at the possiblity….God has given us so much to be thankful for…and one of the things I am thankful for is His mercies are new every morning..and every child born today is a chance for a better life for someone….it’s up the adult’s to make sure they make a positive influence…

God bless this child…and so many others…

For Hazel..and all the other Gifts out there..

Leave a Reply

Categories

