Posted by: suek2001 | March 1, 2015

It’s all in a name..and sometimes that’s all we have…

It”s been a hectic few days since I got back from Florida..and my brain was soft and mushy from the anesthesia from an endoscopy I had on Friday…so the blogging has been lax..

Still, going to go right back into it…

Today, at church was Friend Day…and that brought to mind a woman that played a crucial role in my faith..although I highly doubt that she knows..

I have tried looking for her on the internet but have had no luck..

Back in the 70’s, my mom was a partying, single mother.She would love to hit the bars..go out dancing..and use her awesome personality on guys to get their attention..it worked most of the time…

Mom was nowhere near a pathway to holiness and purity…I have vague memories of this time..different boyfriends…random nights of daquiris being made in a blender with a neighbor…and Mom’s cocktail of rum and cokes…

That started to change..when Mom worked at some company..a printing company(?)..Mom struck up a friendship with a girl by the name of Robin Dexter…or Robyn..not sure how to spell it…Robin was a nice girl..had a joy that Mom needed..and a lot more stability than Mom had….She was married and had two sons I believe…one was about my ageish..Nathan…and they lived out in the ‘burbs’ of Minneapolis..Mom and I lived in Bloomington while she and her hubby lived in Apple Valley(or was it Burnsville?)

One day Mom asked Robyn to babysit me..and Robyn asked her “Are you going to a an appointment or a an interview?” When Mom said “No, it’s ladies night and I want to party”…Robyn said “No. I will not watch your kid so you can go party”…

That left it’s mark on Mom…Robin seemed to take a stand and Mom noticed..So Mom asked her “Why?” Robin said that she was a Christian..gave Mom some books by Billy Graham..and invited her to church..Bloomington Assembly of God…

Mom wasn’t really interested as she went to church as a child and found it dull..Robyn assured her this service was not dull…and so we went…

Mom fell in love with it..the music..the preaching..the speaking in tongues…all the Pentecostal bells and whistles…

Mom didn’t become an angel overnight..she had to shed some of her filthy habits bit by bit but Robin discipled her…and to some extent, me…

Mom and I would go on to become strong Christ-folllowers and members of various Pentecostal churches…We would be water baptized and Spirit baptized and our lives would change…

When Mom and I moved to Florida, we lost touch with Robyn but she had done her best with us…I saw her one other time in the mid-80’s..She was working at KTIS, a Christian station in Minneapolis..and she was talking about graduating from Northwestern College…

I would wind up going to North Central but it was all because of Robyn’s witness to my Mom…

Now, almost 40 years later, Mom and I attend strong Pentecostal churches filled with people we love..and we’ve had endless opportunities to pray for others..offer emotional and financial support to people..and rely fully on God for our lives…

Our walk hasn’t been easy…but I wouldn’t trade it for anything…and I can trace it back to one woman, Robyn Dexter…or Robin Dexter…

You may wonder why I’ve been spelling her name different ways…I am doing this in case, she ever does a Google search on her name…I have no idea if she’s still married…or whatever happened to her son Nathan..or even if she’s walking with God…

All I know is that in the last few months, I have been praying for her and her family…and hope to reunite with her..just to thank her…

So, I will put her name three times at the bottom of this blog to see if she finds this…

If you or anyone you know, knows anything about the woman, please leave a comment and I will get right back to you…

Her name was Robin Dexter..or Robyn Dexter in the 1970’s, she lived in Apple Valley with her husband and son Nathan..She attended Bloomington Assembly of God..She was in her late 20’s-early 30’s..and she attended Northwestern Bible College( called that at the time) in either the late 70’s or early 80’s…She worked at KTIS in the mid 80’s..around 1987 or so…

I appreciate whatever help anyone can give..

Robin Dexter…

Robin Dexter

Robyn Dexter…

Leave a Reply

Categories

