Posted by: suek2001 | February 27, 2015

The hubris of being a Scott..

This will more than likely be a rant than anything else..and it is sharply political.

The older I get, the more pragmatic I get….I have gone through waves of liberalism..and conservatism…and thanks to the GOP picking candidates and positions that annoy me, I am more moderate now than I care to admit..

I just went to Florida where I had to hear of the exploits of their governor, Rick Scott…While there, he stopped into Fort Myers to tell the locals all about a project he spearheaded…There was an overpass and road that now leads from the airport directly to the interstate….

Anyone can see the construction around that intersection…yet, he had to make a personal appearance and brag how he built that..

In Duluth, when our airport opened, a few congressmen came but I don’t recall our Governor being there telling us he built it…

Also, while I was there, the Florida Governor had to fly to the NE (Philly, I think?)…to beg some business to move their headquarters down to Florida…

Really, Rick Scott? Really? I know politicians want jobs..that’s no secret but to basically poach a business from another state..taking tax dollars from that state and adding them to Florida’s base is just unreal..I can see expansion..but Florida is already crowded with so many people, why are you trying to add more? You won’t spend the money to widen roads or improve services…yet you want them to move to Florida?

..and why couldn’t you let private investors go to this company to get them down here? If you are SO in love with the free market system, then why not let private firms plead their case to move to Florida?

The hubris of Scott…

..and then I turn on the TV and hear Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker say:

“We need a leader with that kind of confidence. If I can take on 100,000 protesters, I can do the same across the world.”

He was speaking to some rally for conservatives….addressing his willingness to fight terrorism..and then he said those words…

..and it took everything in me not to throw my TV out the window…

I have a job..a union job..it pays well..and the union does okay. I did not choose the job based on it being a union…there are problems with it but unions have always had the reputation for not being the most forthcoming and covering for weaker employees…Still, I have the job and I am grateful for it…

Like it or not, they are a part of the American economy….as businesses tend to get more into how they can profit themselves over the company as a whole, they are needed…

Still, Walker’s “Right To Work” bill is worth discussing..and that shall be done at a another time as the issue is more grey than black or white…

However, Walker’s comments cut me to the core….I love my nation..I love that we are free…and more than anything else, I love freedom of speech…

When people gather to let their leaders know they are upset..in a peaceful way…without looting or burning cars..that is our nation at it’s best…

The protestors were speaking their mind…some were local..some were from out of state but all the protests took place on American soil, so they are protected free speech..and I celebrate that..I may not agree with everything they were yelling, but I celebrate that…

As far as I can recall, no behadings or kidnappings took place relating to these protests….so for Walker to compare them to ISIS…or even his “leadership in handling them” to ISIS is insane…It’s not like he was out there with a machine gun shooting these protestors to defend the homeland…This narrative felt like a Brian Williams story..”I have survived battles and won”..

(As an aside, I saw one protestor with a sign that called Scott Walker a Domestic terrroist and cringed. I may not like the man but calling a fellow American a terrorist for believing in crap that is different from your beliefs adds NOTHING to the political process as a whole..)

Again, the hubris of Scott…Walker…

It speaks again to the “us vs. them” mentality that has crept into the GOP in the last ten years or so…It speaks to the argument I have made for years that our leaders view the electorate as an enemy to it’s power grab…

…this isn’t really a GOP versus Democrat issue…as Dem’s love to equate those who support any conservative issue and show up to protest as being loonies or nut jobs…

It speaks to the heart of our politics right now and for the future…as George W. Bush proudly proclaimed all those years ago, “You’re either with us or the terrorists”…

I just wish someone told me when our leaders decided to declare war on the voters…

Leave a Reply

Categories

