Posted by: suek2001 | February 16, 2015

“Round the Gulf of Mexico”…

It’s been a few days since I have blogged and I figured I should blog a bit…

I’m in Florida..and it never ceases to amaze me how many people there are…

I grew up in the Fort Myers area from 1979-1994…and by the tail end of my time here, it started to get a bit more crowded and more upscale..

Tourist season was only a couple months in the fall and winter months and then maybe a week or two around Spring Break…

Still,the onslaught of traffic, strip malls and new developments with tropical names amazes me each time…

It used to be that these developments would sit half empty  and some of us would mourn for the land lost for no purpose but now, they are filled…and more and more people coming…

Don’t these newbies realize the governor is not quite normal? Do they not realize that most of Florida is viewed as not normal but the rest of the USA?

Yet, they come..to this crazy state with low wages ..very little safety nets and sprawl as an art form…

I like this state..I lived here and a part of me will always view it with good memories…for the people I knew were good people..and my Mom still lives here..

Yet, I see the coverage of the NE blizzard..the fourth in a month..and know all those people are heading south…and bringing their carbon footprints with them..

The blizzard hides the fact of climate change…and the sprawl of Florida is so blatant that it’s arrogant in it’s pattern…

So, the cold people will move south….and the resources will be plundered and then where will we be?

I don’t have the answers…I am only asking the hard questions…

All I know is that we are on the verge of regret…and as many people know, regret is a mindset that hinders change…

We need to be a voice of no regret…

Leave a Reply

Categories

