Posted by: suek2001 | February 10, 2015

All my bags are packed…I’m ready to go?

In less than 24 hours, I will on a plane heading to Florida to see my Mom…NE MN is expected to see six inches of snow this morning..so I cannot wait to get to warmer weather…

The weather will be coolish for them but the thought of not wearing a parka and boots for two weeks is wonderful in itself…

As with any trip, my problem remains packing…I am a procrastinator by nature…and packing is the worst thing for a procrastinator…..I have nothing packed..and nothing gathered…and I have a list of things I need to pack and do..and it’s hardly touched…

I’ve done the flight check ins and paid the baggage fee….and let my mail guy,landlord and bank know but nothing else…

I haven’t even pulled my luggage out of the closet….and as much as it pains me to say this..I think I know why…

I don’t want to fail at it…True, whatever I forget, I can mostly buy or live without for two weeks but there’s still the threat of failing to remember something that haunts me….and it reaches the heart of what is my biggest emotional problem..insecurity…

I’ve lost track of how many times I have flown or gone on road trips….I should be used to it by now but there’s always that nagging feeling that if I forget something, I am betraying a sense of callousness to whatever I left behind…

We have new techonology to think of…20 years ago, I wouldn’t think of packing my laptop..MP3 player…various USB cord..digital camera…and all the batteries and accesories therein..and if I forget any of those, it get’s expensive to replace…

Also, the art of what to pack and where is trickier thanks to 9/11..The sanctity of the carry on must not only carry a change of clothes but all the stuff you don’t want to pay your airline to lose in the checked luggage…

I have several liquid meds…including a prescription…and all of that must be entrusted into a whole group of people I will never meet..as that will all go into my checked bag..and I pray they don’t drop-kick that across the runway…and with that, I have a trip ritual of laying my hands on my luggage and praying for safe arrival…It’s a Pentecostal thing but it works…I’ve heard stories..

Then, there’s the added bonus of flying to a relative..where they will subconciously judge your packing and memory….”Why didn’t you bring that necklace I bought you?”…”You didn’t bring a dressy purse..What if we have to meet the Pope?”

So, in all that, I must ask..where are we going..what will we be doing..and what will the weather be like..If I bring too many books to read, does that say to my Mom I find her conversations boring?

It feels like a test of some sort..what really is important to me? How much do I want to impress? How old am I really to forget things?

All these question swirl about me and intimidate me as I begin to pack….I will say the only time I enjoy packing is when I am heading back home…I know exactly what I brought and I know what I’ve accumulated and it takes less than 15 minutes to get it all..

…except the one time I left my winter coat in my mom’s closet in Florida…it was a very long January in Minnesota until Mom shipped it to me two weeks later….

Let’s hope that doesn’t happen again…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

