Posted by: suek2001 | February 9, 2015

Clap along if you feel…..

The Grammys were last night…and I missed most of them…

I worked late and really didn’t care to see who won or who performed…I love that they emphasize music but modern music leaves me cold except a few tracks…

I did see Paul McCartney playing back up for Kanye West…Glad Kanye can help that old British guy get his career going…

A note to Paul….I love you..your music was transformative…it’s still better than most but but when someone tells you to back THEM on a worldwide televised event, tell them no…and the song was long and boring…

You are a Beatles..You led Wings…You’ve given us great solo anthems..You don’t NEED to be backup to anyone…especially to a famewhore like Kanye…and when you’re an afterthought with Kanye and Rhianna…just tell them no..for the sake of all of us that love great music…

The other performance I caught a glimpse of was Pharrell doing his monster hit “Happy”…

I love that song…in a musical landscape of bleakness, his was a ray of sunshine..and even that, had to have some dark edges last night…and don’t get me started on the “hands up-don’t shoot” gesture in the midst of it…I understand why music is supposed to remain relevant to the times but “Happy” wasn’t “We Shall Overcome”..and that gesture was way out of place…

 

I’ll stick with the version I love..thank you…

 

and even throw Weird Al’s parody of it in there too:

About the only moment I really did love was Dave Grohl of the Foo Fighters paying tribute to David Letterman’s retirement..and lauding him and Paul Shaffer and the band for their love and support of all kinds of music over the years..Paul and the CBS Orchestra do not get enough credit…

Here’s Paul and the band with Darlene Love doing “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling” during a commercial break on Letterman’s Christmas show:

I will miss these guys…

..and one final Grammy note, Glad for Tom Petty…errr..Sam Smith for cleaning up at the Grammy’s last night….

 

..and Tom’s song:

…….proving everything old is new again…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

