Posted by: suek2001 | February 4, 2015

An Open Letter to Stephen Fry….

Dear Mr. Fry,

I have watched your clip on what you would say to God a few times…I find it interesting and yet sad all at the same  time.

I understand your passion..your anger…our world seems to run on both right now. I’ve had many friends say “what kind of God would do this?” Atheists are not alone in that thought…Christians have asked that too…

I suppose I should introduce myself…My name is Sue. I am a born-again Spirit filled Pentecostal Christian…I live in Northern Minnesota..So, my bias for God is quite clear…

I do not pretend to have all the answers…In fact, I don’t have any answers….I just have my life..and what I have seen and been through to know that God exists…

I’ve seen tragedies on a national scale..and had some on a personal level..and to quote West Wing, He can be a “feckless thug” at times…I’ve yelled at Him…cursed at Him..and many more things…yet, my life has been a blessed one…..

Your answer at why we should bow down and thank God even with all the misery is an interesting one…

I don’t bow down to thank God for the misery…for the suffering…I pray that I can help end it…God is all-powerful but He uses His creation to spread His message of love…

Granted, Christians are NOT the greatest examples of Christ-followers..We are human..we do our level best..and there are times it’s just easier to do for ourselves…I have no excuse for that…Still, the world we live in is run by humans….and human beings are selfish….

You say God is selfish…maybe that’s true..and we truly are a reflection of our Creator in that respect…Still, God is giving and loving…and He came to Earth in human form all those years ago…and yes, that’s a crazy belief system..and it seems weird on a scientific scale to say that Jesus was born of a Virgin….and then lived a mighty life of miracles and died for us and is coming back for us….I’ll give you that…it is weird…but no more weird than believing that human kind is all there is..and that human beings have all the answers..and are all we need to survive…

Getting rid of the notion of God will not make our world better…Ask those that are in countries that ban public professing of faith…Is their nation a utopia of thought and love? I don’t think so…

Mr. Fry, I know you may not read this blog..I do not sit in judgement of your unbelief..I cannot…For there are moments, I wonder but then I look at the smiles of my friends..and relish the embrace of my church…and know that God has brought me all of that..He has gifted me with the tools for writing…and has given me a passion for the people on this planet…

..and He has gifted us with two things, the world cannot live without..love and music…

He may seem like a maniac to you but the God I serve is not that…His people are the maniacs..and those who chose to love themselves more than others are the maniacs…

I know this won’t change your mind, Mr. Fry…I just wanted to give you something to think about..God is real..He is a miracle-working God in my life and the lives of my friends…

I’m sorry that you haven’t experienced that God but the one of fear, doubt and suffering..for that notion comes not from God but from the fires of hell…

If atheism is your true belief system..I ask that you examine how you got there. If you reached that conclusion due to scientific evidence and a rational conclusion, then so be it..but if you reached it through some fit of rage or doubt because of something done to you, then I ask that you examine your heart a bit more.

Anger is a wasted emotion…and it leads to an emptiness that cannot be filled..and it’s worse when you believe something as a result of anger..for many,many times, you find that belief is not real…and your faith is hollow…

God loves you Stephen Fry…no matter how you feel about Him..God loves you…and is listening to you…so yell and curse Him out all you want…He still cares…

Sincerely,

Sue

..from NE Minnesota…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

