Posted by: suek2001 | January 26, 2015

“It’s grey and white and winter all around”

As I write this, a strong blizzard is heading towards the East Coast..When I first heard about it, I thought the national media had blown it all out of proportion…as everything that happens on the East Coast is bigger and better than whatever may happen elsewhere…

If the hype is to be believed some snow totals will reach up to 20-26 inches…to which Buffalo says “Umm..yeah..a bit snowy today”…

I am glad it’s not going to hit here..although Duluth is getting snow today..about three inches…We’ve had our share of record snowfalls…We still stalk about the Halloween blizzard of 1991..

The thing that confounds me is the media’s obsession with weather…When I was a child, I watched the national news…and I rarely recall weather taking up more than a brief glimpse of nature..or an afterthought…Now, they take the first five minutes of a broadcast to cover weather…

I swear the East Coast had storms in the last 100 years or so….The Midwest has always been cold and icy…and California has turned drought and mudslides into an art…

So, why does weather warrant such coverage? There’s all sorts of weather apps..and weather  channels..and forecasts for every kind of outdoor activity…

It also coincides with the fever pitch yells of impeding global warming..global cooling..or Climate Change or ozone issues..whatever the terminology is these days…

It’s not that I don’t believe in climate change..I do..I think humans have an impact on where we live, work and play..There’s s scientific principle that states, “For every action,there is a reaction”..or something like that…I believe that….It’s just the hype with weather is interesting….

Maybe with 9/11, the media has latched on to the long running narrative of impending doom..whether it be from terrorists…to Ebola..bird flu..to just plain, old flu…

Weather may be the one thing humans can protect themselves from..We can bundle up..we can drive a bit slower…we can stock up on bread and toilet paper…

Weather may be uncontrollable but we can control how we react….

I will say one thing…I know Netflix, Hulu and On Demand services will be used a lot this week…

I would advise more reading…like my blog…

Stay safe…be warm..think Spring..and check in on your elderly, your pets..and your elderly pets…

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

