Posted by: suek2001 | January 25, 2015

With age, comes understanding…

I’m not sure how children cope with the world around them…they see so much death and destruction on their video games..their televsion programs and their music videos…it all must be numbing….and then 9/11 adds that great fear of the unknown…

I was blessed..I was born in ’71 and came of age in the glorious 1980’s..Terror was something that happened only in the middle east..and weird, gory crimes were a California or New York thing…

My Grandma would have turned 102 yesterday….and my thoughts turned to all the summer road trips we took..My Aunt Betsy, my grandma and me….

I posted a Moody Blues song to my Facebook timeline as one tribute to her…I recall on a trip to Colorado, we cranked that up as we were going up some mountain pass…and in the midst of driving, we hit a snow squall…

I recall being the backseat as the windows were bigger..so I could see the snow and see the wilderness around me…This pass was steep and the turns were tight..and the road was slick as I recall..Still, Betsy was driving..and Grandma was navigating….I was just enjoying the sight of snow….

All of a sudden, they cranked the music up loud….At that moment, we were listening to Moody Blues “Every Good Boys Deserves Favour”…and the song that was blasting was “Story in Your Eyes”…

Keep in mind, I was about ten years old..had no clue what the words meant but the music sounded really cool…

I was trying to figure out why..as I couldn’t hear the conversation my aunt and Grandma were having….I just listened to the music…amd enjoyed the changing skies and scenery…

After awhile, the snow stopped..we reached the low part of the pass….and Betsy parked the car…

Grandma and I got out to take some pics and to take in the sweet mountain air…Betsy didn’t move for a few minutes…and then Betsy bounded out of the car, all smiles…and the trip continued…

Years later, Betsy and I were driving up the North Shore of Lake Superior..and she blurted out “Remember that time in Colorado, we drove through the snow storm? God, I was scared”…

I found out the reason, they had turned up the volume of the song was they didn’t want me to hear the fear in their voices…and they were very afraid,  we would go over the side of the mountain…They never let on how scared they were at dying…

It’s taken me years to realize that with all the added pressures of adulthood, parents must never betray a sense of fear in front of the children…Kids may be a bit more resilient then they are given credit for but I am glad they never let on…

They didn’t want that moment of fear to overshadow the whole trip…the blessing of that a wonderful trip…

I miss my Aunt and Grandma…and I regret that age, disease and distance seperated us those last few years…as I wouild have loved to have discussed all the adult things they never wanted to say in front of me when I was ten years old…

..and I want to thank them profusely for blessing me with some great summers…and great memories…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

