Posted by: suek2001 | January 24, 2015

Cheaters never win?

I had to think on this one….

I was in Mrs. Chestnut’s 7th Grade Language Arts class…Every Friday, we had a spelling test… As I recall, they gave us the words about ten minutes ahead and then took the slips of paper away and timed-tested us on our knowledge…

I tried something…I wrote down the words in advance…at least the ones I knew I would have trouble with….About two minutes before the test began, Lassundra Harley saw what I was doing…

In my mind, I didn’t think I was cheating…as it wasn’t during the test…apparently, it was..and Lassundra ratted me out…

So, I failed that quiz…..

I was thinking of that as I read all the stories on the New England Patriots and their football troubles this week..

Now, to borrrow a phrase from President Obama…Let me be clear….I am NOT a fan of the New England Patriots….They play decent football but they always seem too good…

So, yeah..they cheat…we all know they do..They were caught spying on the opposing team a few years ago…there’s no reason they won’t do it again…

So, the sports world is aghast at the scandal..and the purity of the Super Bowl hangs in the balance…

As with most cheating, it’s not really about not trusting your skill…it’s about gaining an advantage and not getting caught….

I got caught….and I never did it again…My grades were good enough to get me through things anyway….I knew I wasn’t cut out for a life of dishonesty…and I repented and moved on…

The thing that bothers me about the whole Patriots cheating scandal is how shocked we are by it…We shouldn’t be…Teachers in Atlanta were caught rigging test scores…the IRS catches cheaters on their taxes….We elect politicians who cheat on their wives….Students routinely use Google and Wikipedia and other sites to write their papers for them…but is the whole “Everyone does it” make it right? No….but that’s where we are at…

We have accepted cheating…we compartmentalize it in the case of politicians….As long as they give me my entitlement, keep my taxes low and give money for my roads, what do I care what they do in their off hours?

So, there’s cheating in sports…there’s cheating in life….and those of us that do play by the book(for the most part) watch as cheaters prosper and the rest of us trudge along..

Maybe we sleep better at night…Maybe not…but something tells me this won’t be the last time we hear of a cheating scandal within the sports world…When there’s money involved, someone will always look for an advantage….

So, while the media is frothing at the mouth over the scandal..and the comics are thrilled with telling “deflated ball” jokes, there’s a real crisis in Niger…

http://news.yahoo.com/nigers-christians-live-fear-deadly-attacks-004849150.html

So, we can argue about cheating and the morality therein but the morality of persecution is being played out in a nation far from the football field and the classrooms of the United States…The sad fact is, there are no rules when it comes to terror…..May God help us…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

