Posted by: suek2001 | January 18, 2015

What is a legacy?

Ahh..legacy..let us leave a legacy of peace and understanding…let me leave a legacy of great wisdom for the generations…let me leave a legacy of helping others and paving the way so others could walk behind without struggle…

I was watching some story about why Bill Cosby won’t fade away amidst allegations and recalled what some of his supporters have said, “These allegations shouldn’t overshadow his legacy”…

Cosby’s legacy is that of groundbreaking actor in I-Spy…Cosby Show and being one of the first black comics….

He also had all these organizations that helped children and founded a foundation in the name of his late son…

Still, what is a legacy? Is it a family bragging right?

Pop culture legacies rarely survive 20-30 years after death…unless you had an impact on the Baby Boom generation, then they’ll always be MORE important than those who came before…or after, for that matter…

Then there’s the important legacy of Joe Paterno…who will get all his football wins back after the NCAA took them away after the Penn State scandal….and the holy righteous football fans will be happy once again..because legacies and records mean everything in athletics…

Tomorrow, we honor another legacy..Martin Luther King, JR……He was a famous man back in the day..a revered leader for his work in Civil Rights….and the subject of recently released film called “Selma”…

…and all the legacy therein….as the whites will cling to that and say “look what he did and look how he changed the landscape”..Yes, we have a black president…yes, we are more accepting of interracial dating..but still young black kids are being shot by their friends..gang bangers…and the occasional cop….and the community has the highest rate of unemployment…and his move was completely overlooked at the Oscars…

Still, the legacy means everything…reality isn’t what matters..

I do wonder what my legacy will be..and then I realize, it’s all hubris….we care so much for how we’re remembered, we tailor our life to that..by doing good works..by writing that great American novel..by fighting for just causes….when all it winds up being is some entry on Wikipedia…or a hashtag on Twitter..or some statue no one pays attention to…or some random blog entry…

So, should we forget about leaving a legacy? I don’t think so but I think we should stop with the narcissism of legacies and worry what our children will do and what they will become…

For my own legacy, I don’t have children to bequeath anything too..or any building named after me…and I don’t want that here either….For my legacy, I just want someone to approach me in Heaven and say, thanks for being there for me…and thanks for showing God’s love to me..that’s why I’m here…

I could be cheeky and say that if I did want a memorial to me, it would be a simple stepstool…just so all the other short girls out there can feel a bit taller..thanks to me..and that would be a legacy to stand on…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

