Posted by: suek2001 | January 11, 2015

Behold the power of cheese…

I love cheese..cheesy humor….cheesy food..and cheesy football..That’s why this Minnesota girl loves the Green Bay Packers..

Growing up, I never cared much for sports…except Olympic ice skating…(an ode to my Grandmother’s time with the Ice Follies in her youth)…I detested PE in elementary school…hated dodgeball…as that game was designed to torture the unathletic..a punishment of sorts for not being part of the national religion for athletics…

I recall I had a teacher in the fifth grade…Mr. Brady..who was a star football player in his day..loved to take the kids out on nice days and have a game of touch football in the athletic field behind Villas Elementary in Fort Myers…

All I know is that he yelled and pointed and drew random patterns in the ground…and I ran…no one ever tossed me the ball..and to be honest, I wouldn’t know what I do with that thing if it came to me….

So, to be 43 years old and a football fan now is a bit of a left turn in my life.

I started watching games in college…My friends wouldn’t watch anything else…I recall watching Green Bay games with friends at North Central…There were quite a few Packer Backers attending North Central..the biggest backer of them all was a friend and classmate Christa Farris(now Banister)….

She was the opposite of me when it came to sports..I still see her Christian Laettner poster cover her wall inbetween the green and gold decorations in her dorm room…

I watched Super Bowls for half-time shows and commercials..still didn’t understand the game..and didn’t know great football from bad football..

Then, I moved to Duluth and met more Packer Backers…and one cold afternoon, I sat with a girl that explained the basics of football in the most elementary terms..and I finally understood…Having John Madden announce all the obvious plays helped too…

I saw the Vikings play and thought they were competent..and then I saw Brett Favre play with the Packers and thought “Wow, that’s fun to to watch”…

..and I became a fan…I am not one of those either/or kind of fans….I don’t hate the Vikings…and love only the Packers…all I want is great football to watch on a cold winter afternoon…and several teams provide that..The Denver Broncos..the Indianpolis Colts….and I will admit, the Seahawks too..(although I randomly detest the Patriots and the Ravens)..

Yes, the NFL can be greedy tax evaders and enable wife-beaters, kid beaters and dog fighters and murderers…they won’t get my money from a live game..and I wish the league would worry more about weeding out the thugs and worry less about someone giving thanks to God for a touchdown…and yet, I still watch…

I love Aaron Rodgers and have grown to love his skill..His leadership and how the Packers rally to be a team is amazing…

Granted, the Vikings have had some great seasons..(ironically with Favre as well) and some horrific seasons…but pound for pound…the Packers deliver great football..They may rout an opponent or they may fight to survive but there is something interesting to watch…

So, today..as I head off to work on my first Sunday morning in two years…I feel sad that I can’t fellowship with my Church but also a bit of sadness that I will miss the Cowboys-Packers play off game…

Oh well…I’ll just have to watch them pound the Patriots in the Super Bowl…at least I have that Sunday off!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

