Posted by: suek2001 | January 3, 2015

“When the music fades and all is stripped away”…

Forgive the title…as that lyric seems to fit what I am about to write…

There’s a new song called “Only One” and it features Paul McCartney and Kanye West. I have not heard it, as I try my best to avoid Kanye and his massive ego at all costs. I love Sir Paul but can’t bring myself to endure Kanye.

The interesting thing about this song is that the kids seem to love it..and some of today’s youth are grateful to Kanye for giving Paul his big break in the biz…

For anyone over 30, you read that right….Paul’s big break in the biz…

I love music…all kinds…and am open-minded about a lot of stuff…Kanye, not so much…

Earlier this week, I felt completely dumb about my laptop’s inability to be connected with my DSL line…So I can understand people not knowing things…

..but not knowing Paul McCartney is a crime against music…

I can bet if I ask my Christian friends who never listened to rock and roll in their lives, they would know who he is…As of five years ago, Paul’s song “Dance Tonight” was a marketing tool for Itunes..so at least today’s youth should have heard that one…Paul’s legacy is all over today’s music..and the Beatles and Wings are all over classic rock radio…

True, today’s youth are stuck in the zone of whatever pop radio is selling to them..it reminds me of a brilliant rant Craig Ferguson went on called “Why everything sucks”…

 

As much as I’d love to hit these kids over the head with their idiocy for not knowing who Paul Mccartney is, maybe it’s time those of us who LOVE music, share the love. I know my young co-workers know all about the Kingston Trio..some have even watched videos of their music, thanks to my endless chatter about music….

If we don’t, then the marketers and the record companies win and the mind control of this young generation will continue…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

