Posted by: suek2001 | January 1, 2015

“As the year draws to it’s close..I think about my living”

It’s New Years Eve as I write this…I haven’t written much because it’s been four days since my modem worked properly…So I have lots of thoughts running through my head..

I must admit I never quite understood the whole celebratory nature of New Years Eve…unless, it’s the end of a decade or a century or you’ve had a particularly BAD year..what’s to celebrate in ushering a new one?

About the only thing worth celebrating is John Denver’s birthday but that’s not what this blog is about…

At the church service tonight, Pastor mentioned something we all know but hate to admit…the older we get, the faster time flies…

It was 31 years ago tonight, I recall one of my favorite New Years Eve’s….

My family is not a big family..My Mom..My Aunt..My Grandma and me…so holidays aren’t that big a deal when you’re from a small family.

This one was…It all started in September of 1983….Aunt Betsy got the crazy idea of flying Mom and I up to Minneapolis for Christmas. We had been living in Florida for about four years. I had visited a few times in the Summer but neither of us visted in the Winter…

I recall Betsy met us at the airport that day…with a truckload of boots, jackets..parkas..scarves and hats…I have a feeling Betsy enjoyed shopping for winter gear for me..(I’ve heard rumors that adults LOVE buying kids clothes for some reason)…

December 19, 1983….Minneapolis recorded one of it’s COLDEST low temps..28 below zero….and Mom and I were fresh off the plane from Florida…

Betsy had told Grandma that her BIG gift was a delivery from Dayton’s department store..(now part of the Macy’s conglomerate)..We sat in her golden Buick in the driveway for a good five minutes waiting for Betsy to get ready for the surprise…I recall the cold seeping through the cracks of the window..She didn’t leave the engine running as she didn’t want to tip off Grandma..

When we finally surprised her Grandma’s face and arms were so welcoming..and shocked all at the same time…I still recall the hugs…and the hug she gave Mom was really nice..as they never did see eye to eye on a lot of things…but time has a way of making us all better to each other..although Mom was a bit hurt when all the excitement died down and Grandma said “Does this mean I am NOT gettting a new sofa?”

Christmas would be fantastic..(except for something I did Christmas day that I still feel horrible about..but that’s another story for another blog)..there were pictures of polar bears playing in the snow at the Como Zoo..Mom shoveling snow off the front steps…and various family gatherings…

Betsy and Mom shared a birthday so I recall we went to dinner on December 30th…

The final night of our big trip was New Years Eve…All four of us went down to the Mighty Missisippi in downtown Minneapolis…It was so cold that night but we stayed up and watched the ball drop…

I loved looking at the lights on the big city..and hearing the music..some swing band doing Glenn Miller covers..Betsy and Mom were amused that my Grandma was being hit on by some drunk guy…As “In the Mood” began, I begged Grandma to dance and we did..I found out years later, she was glad to dance with me as she was trying to avoid dancing with the guy who kept hitting on her..Betsy and I were the ones who loved music..Grandma merely tolerated it but for that one night, she revelled in it…and that’s a memory I will carry with me..

Maybe a new year is not really what you celebrate but who you celebrate with….Tonight, I was with my Church family in Duluth….I wouldn’t have imagined that 31 years ago….and I glad for time moving like a river…but sometimes, time can leave the ones we love behind…

So tonight, I raise a glass to Grandma and Aunt Betsy..two people who gave me so much in their lives…as they celebrate another New Year in heaven…

Leave a Reply

Categories

