Posted by: suek2001 | September 4, 2014

“Out Here in the field, I fight for my meals, I get my back into my living”

I had dreams when I was younger..I wanted to be a writer..a journalist actually..used to watch the National news with awe and wonder…Never cared for the local news..too dull and predictable…

I’ll never forget watching Richard Roth of CBS cover the student uprisings in China…He was in thatis voice famous Square when the police came for him…his voice saying, “they’re coming toward us now..they are grabbing the camera…oh..okay…I’ll go…I’ll go..I’LL GO!!!!!!!” Then static..and then silence….and the images of the protests changed and the screen went black…
I had never seen anything like it…and the next day, the city police released Roth and his cameraman…but they both looked beaten up..pretty bad…

It was 1989…and in my head, I was thinking, do I really want to pursue this for a living?

I am a writer but didn’t have the guts to be a journalist…Yet, millions are out there..in the field trying to cover a world for an audience that only cares if there’s a Dunkin Donuts opening down the street or who will be on “Dancing With the Stars” this season..

Syria..Iraq..the Urkraine..Mexico..the Indian Oceans…all of these locales have played major roles in our world this summer but we get bogged down in covering thunderstorms…a shooting in Missouri..and grumpy airline passengers…

What are these men and women doing overseas? They are there because they love the job..and they beleive there is truth to be found there…

..and with that, they risk their lives….

The recent deaths of two journlists at the hands of ISIS should horrify us all..For in their executions of these Americans, ISIS threatened some valued principles in American life..The Freedom of the Press..and the pursuit of LIFE, liberty and the pursuit of happiness..

I could lecture ISIS in their shortsighted goal of killing those that so many use for propaganda but the thugs at ISIS are not about using their brains..only their muscles…

I think my rage is mainly towards the Obama Administration with their moderate tone of these horrifying acts…Now, they are talking about these people facing punishment but Obama earlier in the week said he had “no strategy” in dealing with ISIS…At least he was honest…

Too many times, the foreign policy of our nation is reduced to smoke and mirrors…

The quote that angered me was his assertion that ISIS can be a “managable problem”…

That is something you say to your adivsors or in the Situation Room or even in the Rose Garden talknig ideaologies with fellow staffers…
You do NOT announce to the world that America only wants to manage a problem NOT defeat it…

Love it or not, we’ve always had a reputation for big ideas..big wars..big action when dealing with crises that impact us…

The wars, plans and strategies may not always work but in poltics, the APPEARANCE matters more than the actual result..

(Conservatives LOVE to thrash liberals with the symbolism over substance mantra but God knows, the conservatives have their own version of this)

So how does one “manage” a terrorist group bent on destroying the world and all Western ideas? How does one “manage” a threat that scares the journalists out in the field into retreat..or a news organization that will pull all of it’s resources because they don’t want to pay out death benefits to families if this trend continues?

If the government cannot manage something as neccessary as Veteran’s health care, how in the world can it manage terrorism?

I recall that in 2008, some candidate’s wife said that the people of Europe have learned to live with terrorism and the USA should to..I thought that was an ignorant statement at the time…turns out that is our new foreign policy…
(..and I can’t believe I’m about to say this but..)

Both Elizabeth Warren and Al Franken have better strategies to deal with ISIS then our own president. Warren wants them eliminated..while Franken wants some operations and investigations to figure out how ISIS is recruiting Americans to join them…some of those recruits are coming from my great home state..Minnesota…

I know that if we had a GOPer in the White House, there would be a war strategy..maybe even embargos to nations that support..or if they were the far right, a Rambo-style foreign policy…I’m not asking for that but I am asking that the President takes this seriously and have a DESIRE to wipe them off. He should be angry that Americans were killed..He should be furious that the media that loved him into the White House is under attack now…

Yet, like other aspects of his tenure..they served his purpose and are now being thrown under the bus….Hillary Clinton will tell you that’s NOT a great place to be…

So, in addition to my challenge to the President, I challeng the media..Now, that you KNOW how little he regards you..Challenge Him!! Be the voice of the people who want answers..Be the voice of the intellectuals on the right and left who demand answers…Be the voice of those who want REAL news on their national newscasts and morning shows….before it’s too late..

Responses

  1. […] https://suek2001.wordpress.com/2014/09/04/out-here-in-the-field-i-fight-for-my-meals-i-get-my-back-i… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

