Posted by: suek2001 | January 7, 2014

Am I working for a living?

My brain has been on overdrive today……lots of thoughts have come tumbling out…

I’m tired so if this rambles I am sorry but something needs to be said…

I cannot go into details…for two reasons..one I don’t know any..and two I don’t want my own job to be in danger…

I’ve worked at the same job for a bit over three years….Today, I found out my supervisor no longer works there….after almost two decades of service to this organization…she is gone…I have no clue why…I want to know but what good will it do? If it’s something sinister, it changes my view of her…If it’s not, it changes my view of my employer…Either way, details will change my perception…For now, all I have are thoughts…

Part of me wants to thank her for what she did for me…She fought for my job…and she  challenged me to do better..and to think that I COULD do more than what I expected of myself..She also had a passion for people and getting it right…something you don’t see every day…

Still, this won’t be about my anger…my feelings of betrayal or my confusion…or even a strong defense of her situation….

I started thinking about work..and what it has come to me in this present age…

I know of very few jobs that people are thrilled to do…First Responders…Park Rangers…Musicians…and maybe a small number of numbers geeks who get turned on at the start of Tax Time…

A great majority of us do the work for the money…the security…the insurance…and maybe some discount on products…Beneath all that is the underlying factor…we like routine…

Work at it’s basic nature is routine…and humans love the comfort of routine because it is a controlled routine…and work gives us that comfort..that security…

We have this weird affection for work…We don’t really want to go into work…but we miss it on a certain level when we do.

I know that when I’ve called in sick..I hated it…not out of some strange allegiance to my job but because it is so boring without work..

For me, my routine has changed a bit in the last year..as my hours have….but still my routine is what I am comfortable with…

Your work family…as dysfunctional and frustrating as can be at times, is part of that routine…and when one member is gone, you really feel it…it alters your day..

I have come to really like my co-workers….some annoy me on some days but they make me laugh and rejoice on other days….it’s a world unto itself…I’m sure they feel the same way about me…

So, when or if I leave my current job, I will miss them…I will miss the routine….

I feel for my supervisor..for she lost something today…yes, she lost her job..whether her choice or not, she lost a bit of comfort…frustrating comfort at times….and being thrown into a new reality is never easy…

Human beings like to make order out of chaos..and unemployment is one of the greatest tests of how you respond to chaos..it’s more than a bank account dwindling…it’s more than the uncertainty of the future..it is a complete lost of trust in that future….

In this day and age, you really can’t believe in anything lasting…For me, that has been more true than not…I have gone through my share of short term employment and gone through the battles to restore order to my chaos….The one constant…the one shining beacon is the truth I’ve known all my life…and I’m reminded of every now and then..

No matter what came before..or will happen tomorrow….or what bosses or co-workers say….God loves me….I try to never forget that….He’ll always love me….no matter what…

Jobs used to be a form of security and in some cases status but not anymore…and one day, you could lose it or walk away from it but as long as God is beside you..nothing is too difficult…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

