Posted by: suek2001 | December 31, 2013

My Spirit is lifted rising higher and higher

November 1994 was an interesting time in my life…

I had just moved from my long time home of Fort Myers, Fl. I was starting out in Bible College and trying to make new friends….I had developed a friendship with someone who would go on to change my life and I was living with my Grandmother and finding it wasn’t the same as visiting her when I was a child…

I was 23 and experiencing life as a reasonably young adult….all this was the back drop for a pivotal moment….

John Denver…a musical hero and refuge to me was to sign his autobiography at ReadWells at the Mall of America.

My Aunt Betsy and I knew we had to go..but when it came time to wait in line, she left to do some shopping..I guess standing around meeting him wasn’t what she wanted to do…

So, I had chance to meet other John Denver fans..I was still a bit shy so talking to strangers wasn’t my forte….The store manager kept coming out with updates..”John’s plane has landed at the airport”…..The crowd would go wild….I was a bit non-plussed…”John’s on the way to the airport”…

At that moment, I joked “I hope to God he’s not the one driving”..Wrong thing to say….two different people gave me a 10 minute legal defense of his DUI charges…I realized this crowd wasn’t one you couldn’t joke with…

Soon, he appeared…In a yellow and black tweed jacket..Bright pink shirt and grey pants…a bit taller than I was expecting….and he looked a lot older than the last time I saw him up close in concert…June,1987 Rochester, MN…but he looked like a Lit Professor about to sign copies of his book…

I was nervous but also thrilled that I was finally going to meet him..and then I realized how his life and music were no longer the focal point of my life…almost relics of my childhood…I was so focussed on school that I rarely listened anymore or even followed his career/wherabouts closely…Life is like that sometimes….especially adulthood…

I realized that this wasn’t the moment I had daydreamed about all those years ago…Another thing that always bothered me is that I knew he HATED signing autographs…Hated that people wanted nothing more than a piece of paper with his name on it..and here he was signing autographs…on copies of his book…

I heard all these others quote songs and tell him stories about when they first saw him..He would nod and say “Thank You”…..When it came to my turn, I barely got out the following sentece, “My favorite song is Stonehaven Sunset”….He stopped…looked up..and said “Really??? No one ever says anything about that song. Really?” I answered “Yes”..and told him my favorite lyric…and he smiled…and said “Thank you..I mean that..Thank you very much”…

At that moment, Betsy came up to me and had to drag me away as I realized I had just thanked John and he thanked me…

I recall the only thing I thought of after that was “I have to to tell Dennis”..My best friend at the time…My life would go on..and things would evolve..John’s music would play a huge role in healing me after Dennis’ death…and would help open new friendships and musical styles in my life…

So, on this day..I think back to that day in November 1994…almost twenty years ago…and say “John..Happy Birthday ..I still miss you”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

