Posted by: suek2001 | September 4, 2013

Fudge, Cake and trust..

I’m warning those right now that love my blog for it’s depth and bright look at life, this will NOT be one of those entries…

I am writing this from a place of anger and a bit of betrayal..I feel all this for two people…My Mom and myself….

My mom is an awesome woman..She is a giver if there ever was one..She may not be wealthy but her gifts are just so full of love and joy that they make life my life richer..

Tonight, it feels a bit poorer….and I blame the Postal Service…

My mom made homeade fudge…great fudge….and bought some clothes..and a two pack of deodarant too..What do you want? It’s been hot and sticky up here. She worries about me…

She also did something extra special for me this time….as if the fudge weren’t enough….She drove three hours(round trip) to Yoders Amish Village in Sarasota..and bought a 9×9 chocolate cake for my birthday…

Mom has always wants me to have cake for my birthday…..my friend tried to make one for me but it wound up having issues..but still the love was there…

So, to get Yoders cake as my birthday cake was really something to look forward to..as their cake is really out of this world…

 

So, Mom sent me the box…on Friday August 23rd..my birthday was September 2nd…and as of Friday, August 30th..no box…So I ask Mom for the shipping number..She mailed it from Cape Coral, FL to Duluth, MN…and I still hadn’t received it…

So, we checked the tracking and it seemed to have been stranded in New Jersey….as of the 28th of August..I made jokes on Facebook and to my friends that either the Mob has my box or Chris Christie ate it…

Well, I may not have been far off….I got my box today..

..and this is what it looked like..the gifts were inside…but the fudge and the cake were gone….My mom spent a lot of time and effort..and a lot of money to get me this box..and it arrived late..and half empty…and looking like someone kicked it in…

Mom admits the box was heavy but my Mom is awesome at packing stuff..and taping things….and damage is something we can live with as certain things happen…Plus, I fly on occassion and have seen how people handle luggage…

The thing that bugs me is the cake and the fudge are missing…whether they fell out or were stolen remains unclear…

Still, $20 to ship something and NOT get everything to it’s destination is unacceptable…

..and yes, the Postal Service will hear from me..and I WILL complain..I will show them the box….

All of that is worthy of note..and a good start but there’s still a sense of loss that goes beyond baked goods…

 

Our government takes pictures of our mail..every piece…and they have spies for our email…and Facebook..and our blogs….we accept that on some level because what can we do as citizens? They hold the power…

Still, the violation of opening that box and taking something that was only meant for me…shreds any  trust I have….

So, now whenever I send a card with money in it..or mail out a letter..or even mail a package..I won’t be sure of the security or the safety of it…That is gone…

it’s bad enough that I lay hands and pray a prayer a protection over my luggage at the airport..I pray that it arrives at MY destination and safely…do I have to do the same to my mail?

The other factor the Postal Service forgets is that even in this age of cellphones, Facebook and video chat, people still send packages to show they care..a phone call is nice but you can’t send a cake through the phone wires….and that personal touch can makes the miles between Duluth and Cape Coral dissapear…

So, should I stop sending things through the Postal Service? UPS costs too much and is really picky about delivery times..With my work schedule, it makes it hard to get anything..and UPS penalizes you for wanting your package on your schedule..not theirs…

Still, their uniforms are great and for the most part , their service IS reliable…

 

So, with the Postal Serivce whining about costs..and losing money, they really should hire BETTER handlers and really should try their best to keep the trust..if we have any at all…

For trust is a hard thing to win back once you lose it…and I believe I have lost my trust in the Postal Service…

Granted ,there are bigger tragedies going on in the world today..and with my friends….but to lose that connection with my mom hurts in ways it’s hard to describe…

The only way I will ever taste her fudge again is if I visit or move..and that isn’t an easy thing when you don’t have the money or the time to….

So, for now, I will savor the memory of that last batch of fudge she sent me..Thanks to the Postal Service..that’s all I do have….and a happy birthday to me!

Responses

  1. This is so terrible! I use the USPS regularly because I have penpals all over and I frequently mail packages. I’m sorry that this has happened to you and hope that it was the exception to what our USPS does and not the rule.


Leave a Reply

Categories

