Posted by: suek2001 | July 6, 2013

A Much Better View of the Moon..

I mentioned in my last blog that songs by the Kingston Trio have moved me and meant a lot to me. Ther’s one that become a favorite of mine. It’s off their latest effort “Born At the Right Time”..

The song is called “Much Better View of the Moon”..It is a catchy lighthearted ditty about optimism and going forward with your life in a carefree manner..

Here’s my original review of the song from my review of the album:

1. Much Better View of the Moon– George Grove takes a playful vocal style on this..with that soft calypso beat and strong guitar making this song of optimism and joy a great opener…and an ear worm..I have had this delightful ditty stuck in my head for hours on end. The lyrics may take a too light approach to some dark situations but the buoyancy of the performance carries it through to the end..

 

The reason this song means so much to me is the one line in the song that is part of the chorus:

“If I lose my job, I’ll sleep ’till noon”……

The last six months have been a time of change for me. I moved from part-time to full time at my job at a local hospital. I won’t go into all the details but there was a time when I truly beleived I was about to get fired. As far as I know, I am not the worst employee but I  readily admit I have my troubles adjusting. My boss was having weekly progress meetings which added to the stress. As in any job, I wanted to fit in and that took awhile…and all that stress touched off my deepest insecurities….

So, in the midst of this quiet fear of losing my job, I listened to this song a lot. I knew God would take care of me no matter what. I knew that I was in a great living situation that was not in danger and I knew I would never go hungry or go without the means of paying bills as my church looks after it’s own. Still, it was unsettling..and yet, that line about “..if I lose my job, I’ll sleep ’till noon” resonated with me….and the perverse joy I get from singing that song randomly while I work is too sweet to describe.

My work situation has calmed down a bit but the lessons of that song remain. Stress is really what you make for yourself….and I was tired of making it rule my life.

Great tune..great message…great album.

Responses

  1. && look how wonderfully you pulled through. You’re a good worker Sue, I’m pleased to work with you. And just think, Custard is no longer a part of your life. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

