Posted by: suek2001 | July 1, 2013

..and the road shines bright…

It’s a warm late Sunday evening as I write this, the sun is still shining but slowly sliding behind the hills of Duluth. Summer, however brief, is here.

This weekend has been a great weekend..and it’s all because of friends. 

I feel incredibly blessed by the friends I have made in my 12 years here in Duluth.

I moved to my lovely city 12 years ago this evening. I left behind college friends and a great Church..Had the promise of a great radio job and a new life to look forward to in Duluth. The job fell through but the new life proved to be a rewarding adventure.

I still am amazed I even moved here..as I never seemed that gutsy and playing it safe seemed to be a choice I made all too often. Still, my Duluth dream had to be realized or it would haunt me for the rest of my days.

I have told the story of my move here a few times:

https://suek2001.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/i-wish-myself-a-happy-anniversary/

 

That link describes it best..I wrote that on my 10 year anniversary…

 

So, today won’t be about looking back but it will be about looking forward. This past weekend, I have been bowling with friends..shopping with friends and eating out with friends. None of these activities will ever be written about with any historical importance but I really don’t care. My time with my friends is precious to me.

..and there’s more to come..dinner with friends on the 4th of July…softball(please GOD, let us win ONE game!) with my church Tuesday night..and savoring one of the last Wednesday night Church services before my hours at work change…and to end the week, a Kingston Trio concert in my own hometown. What more could I ask for?

I ask God every day why He has blessed me with the people I have in my life..and my wonderful apartment..and the wonderful gift of my Church and my awesome music collection. I’m not entirely sure I deserve it all but I will take what I can get.

I will say I am grateful for my job as it has given me a bit more security than I have in years but I realize in these times, it could all end on a moment’s notice but given God’s track record with me, there will be provision.

So, as I look forward to this week, I thank God every day for the blessings of the past 12 years….and I pray a special prayer for my friends and family to be blessed as they have blessed me.

 

 

Responses

  1. Happy Anniversary Sue! I’m glad you picked my city to move to. 🙂 You’re one of the faces that I’m very pleased to know. ♥


Leave a Reply

Categories

