Posted by: suek2001 | August 13, 2012

Sing a Song and you’re not alone…..

Ah..Mondays…..I am still in Scottsdale and abit over 24 hours away from landing in my hometown…..and the realization that Fantasy Camp is over is slowly hitting me….

Yesterday, had a tired melancholy to it..Everyone was either leaving for home or making their emotional way there…

Camp was officially retired at about 3am…and those who wanted to catch up on sleep and leave in our time stayed around…

…and boy we got a treat last night…..

 

The John Stewart Band performed….Better people than I can name all the members and songs… but I enjoyed the cohesion of this musical unit….It seemed the perfect way to end Camp…and after all the folky singalongs..and the umpteenth versions of “You’re Gonna Miss Me”…and “I’m Goin’ Home”, it was refreshing to hear John Stewart songs done by people that played with the legend and also revered the material…and in that gently eased us out of the self-imposed folk bubble and into the pop-rock foray…

The show featured many a concert staple..so I’m told but there were a few surprises, One Eyed Joe..Bad Rats….a weird love song who’s title escapes me but it had a Weird Al vibe minus the accordion…

There were two songs that struck me for different reasons…First was the song Wild Horse Road tucked in a medley…that song made me realize how much my Aunt would have enjoyed the music..and the fact that I got to tell one of John’s kid’s later how much he meant to her, brought me a bit of closure in the grief I still carry four years later…still, while the song played, I felt tears well up…and in AZ, I’ll take whatever moisture I can find…

The other song that hit me was their beautiful rendition of Jasmine..a more pop version than the Kingston Trio version but great nonetheless…It did remind me that the Camp was over and it would be a long time before I heard Bill’s wonderfully booming voice on that song….and I missed those harmonies that Rick and George provided…and knowing the Kingston Trio were on their way to another gig made the song just a bit heartbreaking as I feel like the weekend is over…

..and hearing the lines about music making the world feel like home in “Some Lonesome Picker” summed up the weekend for me….

Of course, one of the staples they had to do was “Gold”..and the guitars really rocked on that song….and in fact, the musical joy and intensity brought to each song last night was fantastic..I never saw John live(unless you count a webcast concert a number of years ago) and have never seen the John Stewart band..and the feel of a live show after hearing studio cuts and live recordings is just something to behold…It brings so much joy and depth to it to the music that it really is hard to explain…and it was a fine way to end the weekend….an all time weekend as some might refer to it as…

Then, we all headed back to the Hospitality Suite and engaged in one last jam where I saw Allan Shaw play a beautiful song(whose title escapes me..something about a kitty)..and other musicians joining in on other things…

Then laughter, stories pictures were shared…and laughter was punctured by a bit of sadness in the knowledge that it will be a while before we all gather together..

I got the added bonus of figuring out how to work the flash on my cheapie camera..and took pictures galore…I have most of them without flash and half with the flash so we shall see how it all goes…

I headed out around 2am after embarrassing myself and then forgetting that people were still at the party when I thought they left…so I meandered home and enjoyed the warm night air..

Today was breakfast with some Bloodliners and Trio Campers..the stragglers..and the spouses….and now the rest of the day will be mine curled up in bed sleeping or reading..

I wanted to go to the pool but with the temp at 104 degrees before noon, I just can’t work up the nerve…

More musings to come but the sadness and George Grove withdrawl is starting to hit me….My main prayer right now is that God will reawaken memories from these past few days…so I can keep them close in my heart and hand…

 

Responses

  1. Glad it was a wonderful experience.

  2. […] https://suek2001.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/sing-a-song-and-youre-not-alone/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

