Posted by: suek2001 | April 28, 2010

Oh we’ll stay awhile….

I’ve been in a reflective mood for the last couple of weeks..a few personal anniversaries are all bunched up for me in the next few weeks.

The most painful one comes this week as I recall the passing of my Aunt, who loved John Stewart and John Denver equally and whose absence makes the music I love sound less joyful.

Last year, to help me through my grief I compiled a disc of songs that made me think of her.. JS, JD and Gordon Lightfoot filled..

One of the songs that I’ve played a lot lately is Wild Horse Road..
I know what John probably meant by the song but the awesomeness of Stewart’s gift is the layers that a simple lyric can have…

For me, this song hit home as I drove down the street where she used to live a few months ago, the house she lived in for close to 50 years was sold and remodeled into something that doesn’t even resemble the house I knew..For me, that was it.

She is that Wild Horse absent on Wild Horse Road…She loved the song and I know she cried when she first heard the song..as that song captures so much whether it’s visionaries, animals, ordinary people or a feeling…that dissapear off of our personal horizon.

For such a simple song..with it’s mournfulness..bluesy tinge and
haunting imagery..there’s power..

I would love to write more about who she was to me and all the other stuff that comes with it, but I can’t.  It’s been two years since she passed and I still can’t quite figure out what all she meant to me. She could drive me insane with her weird way of looking at things. Her self-absorption  was something to behold. 

Yet, she had moments of pure joy and giving that I can’t begin to understand. I miss her..I miss ALL aspects of her.  She may be in Heaven but it’s not the same. The music doesn’t sound the same. my beautiful city of Duluth that she gave me all those years ago, doesn’t look the same.

Yet, we go on and pretend that everything is okay…and on some days it is. Maybe that’s enough.

Responses

  1. Rest in Peace, Betsy. Rest in Peace.


Leave a Reply

Categories

