Posted by: suek2001 | April 28, 2010

Brotherly love.

I have wavered on posting something intensely personal as it also affects my Mom as well.

So, I will just post the bare essentials of information while protecting my mother’s privacy.

Today, would have been my brother Chris’ 43rd birthday. Most of the people who know me, think I’m an only child. I am to a degree.

Chris was born about four years before I was born. He was a good kid from what I know and sensitive one too. I know he loved animals and was curious as well. I would never meet Chris because he died due to a medical accident two years prior to my birth.

I always wanted a brother to protect me from the bullies, to play with  when I was lonely and to blame whenever I got into trouble.

As an only child, I was spoiled well by my Aunt and Grandma. I was protected by my Mother from any evil that would come near me.

My brother’s absence is haunting on certain levels and intriguing on others. I often think of how my path would have changed if he were alive. That kind of thinking can drive a person mad. Still, I wish he were here. I know where he;s buried and I have visited his grave.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that if you have brothers or sisters, cherish them. Some people have never had the opportunity to hate, bother or love a sibling.  I salute Chris and the fact that he’s been by God’s side for 41 years. I’m not sure why God called him home but I can only assume that someone needed a brother more than I did.

Leave a Reply

Categories

