Posted by: suek2001 | March 17, 2010

The Wolf at Twilight-A Review

About 15 years ago, I started Bible College. I had one class that I detested. Scott Jensen’s “cultural Anthropology”.  Scott was a great guy but it unnerved me to have a teacher only a few years older than I. I also hated the early start for the class.

 However, there was one semester long assignment we had to complete, cultural study. I picked the Native American culture as Minnesota is soaked in it. I went to the library and checked out some books including one called “Neither Wolf Nor Dog” by Kent Nerburn. I showed it to my best friend who immediately borrowed it and read it in one night.  He begged me to read it but I didn’t for a while.

When my friend suddenly died, I felt lost and alone and needed somewhere else to be for a while. I  plunged myself into my studies and my grades went up. I finally read Neither Wolf Nor Dog. I found a great narrative of a man who was trying to understand the Native World around him and the Native man named Dan who wanted the bridge the gap and have both whites and natives see each other as they truly are.

I have tried for years to explain what Kent writing has done for me. I even tried telling him what his work has done for me. This book saved me from plunging me to the depths of despair. It was an escape and a joy and a world unto its own. With this book, I began reading all of Nerburn’s other books and will continue to read whatever he puts out.

We need more authors like Nerburn to speak the truth of our past, our lives and earth. I’m glad he uses his gifts for the good and I’m glad for the sequel to Wolf at Twilight.

I’m biased as I am huge fan of Kent’s work but this sequel to “Neither Wolf Nor Dog” called “Wolf at Twilight”  is superb. Haunting, sad and yet celebratory. This book takes a look at the land that shapes us and the haunted history of Native Peoples and the sin the white people still carry. It opened my eyes to depth of depravity of what the settlers did but also to the grace of forgiveness and the beauty of finding peace. It contains all the elements I love in Kent’s other books. Listening to the land, questioning the spirit, challenging preconceived notions and celebrating the little things.

All of these themes weave themselves into a narrative that explores the dark underbelly of what we have done in the name of self-righteousness and warped holiness to a people who clearly did not deserve it. We MUST take these lessons and learn from them and heal those we have hurt and ourselves. Please get this book and tell everyone you know about it. It needs to be in our souls and hearts.

Responses

  1. Hi Sue,

    Thank you for speaking so kindly about me and my works. I do my best, and it is readers like you who keep me writing. I want you to know that I’ll have a good day at the computer today because of you. Your comments are a gift.

    All my best,

    Kent


Leave a Reply

Categories

