Posted by: suek2001 | February 9, 2010

40 already?

Got a call from an old friend of mine the other day. Her birthday is this weekend. Right before Valentines Day. I have my reasons for loathing that day but hers a bit more personal. So, I made a spur of the moment decision to visit her and in essence my old home this weekend.

I think what stuns me about this trip is not the suddenness od the travel but the fact that she’s celebrating her 40th birthday. I’ll be turning 40 next year on some esoteric level, I knew it would come my way eventually but I thought that was more of a hypothetical birthday. So, it’s hard to fathom my friend being 40. My college friends aren’t supposed to age, We’re supposed to remain in our 20’s. Aren’t we?

I’ll admit I loved my 20’s just for my college experiences but my 30’s have been my favorite time so far. It’s strange as adulthood hits and responsibilities became the norm, I have faced all of it with a sense of challenge. If you would have asked me 25 years ago, I would tell you that I would be too scared to go to college away from my Mom and then move to a city where I had not a clue who anyone was. So, this has proven to me that I can do things. Although, fear still plays a role in my life in some areas, it doesn’t have the grip on me that it once did.

I’m not really looking forward to 40 as the artificial timeline is nowhere near complete. Don’t have the kids, nor the house, nor the husband, nor the career. I do have friends. a great apartment and a loving church. I am thankful for that and maybe that’s why turning 40 won’t be as painful as I think it might be. This weekend, it’s my goal to help my friend turn the big 4-0. I shall make it as fun and bizarre as I can.

Leave a Reply

Categories

