Posted by: suek2001 | February 2, 2010

A Groundhog anniversary

As stated before I am huge sucker for dates. Today isa big one from my childhood.

On Wednesday February 2nd at 7:30 am, 1983, My Mom quit smoking after close to 20 years.  It had been a point of contention with my Aunt and my Grandma for years. Living in MN, there was a culture against smoking inthe ’70’s. I recall Minnesota being the first state passing a “CLean Indoor Act” banning smoking from malls. 

When we moved to FLA, Mom continued the habit ’till we started attenting church. This church was an old fashioned Assenblies of God church. They took the Scripture about “your body being a temple of God” to heart. Mom had to quit in order to join. So for the love of the fellowship, she quit. It changed her.

She went from cigarettes to candy on one day. When I came home from school, she had a lollipop in her mouth. It still is a struggle….trading one addiction for another. Still, I;m roud of her for trying. She hasn’t smoked once in 27 years and did it all cold turkey. Who knows if the patch or gum had been around if she would have gone to sweets but I know that she knows her health is better.

I never took up smoking. I tried once in the 5th grade. Iwas trying to get into this girls clubhouse and she said all those that enter must smoke. I tried it but could never figure  how to so I gave up, went home and played my John Denver music. I was resigned to the fact that I would never be a part of the cool crowd and I guess I embraced my inner geek.

I see the price of cigarettes now and tell my Mom on how much things have changed. They used to be about a dollar out of the vending machines. Now, you have to produce ID and know the brands with all the different kinds of tar. It’s amazing people give away so much money on one habit.

I do have one addiction though..caffiene. Mine is cheaper habit than cigs.  I don’t need Starbucks,just a sip of Vitamin Water or fountain soda and I’m good for the rest of the day.

I”m sure we all have weaknesses and needs and desires. I don’t judge those that smoke. I feel sorry for them on a certain level as society seems to want them to be banished the far corners of the planet. Just last week, Duluth passed an ordinance banning smoking 15 feet from bus shelters. I applaud that as in the winter, it really is a pain to try to avoid the smoke. Besides, my lungs need the room for the bus fumes and they are tasty!

Leave a Reply

Categories

