Posted by: suek2001 | January 20, 2010

Another business I don’t want to be in.

I think all of us at one time or another dream of being a star. I had my great John Denver cover band dream when I was 12. It was all in my head ,of course but with a great stick and a fantastic stereo, it was my dream. Acting was never my thing as I was too lazy to learn lines.

Still, fame is something that just never occurred to me and the vehicle of showbiz just seemed too “out there” to me.

In this economy , we know that office politics are part of the deal. It’s part of what we all go through and can’t wait to escape from. Yet, why is America drawn to the Late Night talk show wars? Forget America,  why am I drawn to them? I’ve neen posting way too much on various forums in defense of Conan O’Brienand trashing Jay Leno. I won’t repost my arguments here but I find it weird that this whole tihng fascinates me. All this whole issue seems to be is office politics concerning two people who work for the same company promised certain things by their bosses. Their reactions are what are the draw.

 I feel sorry for one of the players as this seems to be a contract dispute with a boss that really doesn’t respect him. We all have that and there are times we just bow down before the pay check and take it ’till another door opens. The big difference in this office drama is that it’s played out in public, on the web, in the papers and on television. As much as my job drives me nuts sometimes, I can be thankful that no matter what I do, Kimmel, Letterman, Leno and O’Brien won’t be making fun of my misery.

This whole thing makes me relieved that I chose a more humble, quiet line of work. For those that continue to seek their fame and fortune, my question is this..Do you have the stomach for it?

Leave a Reply

Categories

